Bulk delete Facebook posts to save you some embarrassment: Here's how

By Digit NewsDesk | Published on 03 Jun 2020
Bulk delete Facebook posts to save you some embarrassment: Here's how
HIGHLIGHTS

Facebook came in the early days of the social media movement, and most of us who joined back then were naive and shared content which we may not want to revisit or be dug up by others to troll and defame us.

To help save some embarrassment, you can now bulk delete your old Facebook posts.

The new bulk delete option resides in the “Activity Log” and you can use a filter to bulk delete posts made on a certain date, or shared with people.

Advertisements

Access Open Source Technology

Innovate w/ IBM and Discover New Open Source Technology Today. Learn More.

Click here to know more

Facebook has launched a new feature that lets you bulk delete all that you’ve shared on your timeline ever since you joined the social media platform. You can also search with filters like date and people, and bulk delete posts. The process helps users weed out unwanted content from their profile.

Facebook came in the early days of the social media movement, and most of us who joined back then were naive and shared content which we may not want to revisit or be dug up by others to troll and defame us. 

The new bulk delete option resides in the “Activity Log” and you can use a filter to bulk delete posts made on a certain date, or shared with people. There’s also the option to archive old posts so only you can see them.

How to bulk delete Facebook posts

The bulk delete option is presently only available in the Android and iOS apps of Facebook, with support for the web version coming in the future. Here’s how to go about deleting old posts from your timeline —

1. Open the Facebook app on your iOS or Android device.
2. Head to the profile page by tapping on your profile photo on the home screen. You’ll find it in the top left corner.
3. Now tap the 3-dot icon and go to Activity Log.
4. Tap on Manage Activity at the top and choose Your Posts.
5. You will now see all the posts you’ve made on your profile ever since you joined. Select the ones you want to delete.
6. If you want to filter it out, tap on the Filters option at the top to sort your posts by category, date or people.
7. Select the posts you want removed and tap on delete or archive.

When you hit delete, Facebook will delete the post and the content completely after 30 days from their servers. If you hit the archive option, others won’t be able to see the posts but it will remain on your timeline for you to revisit. If you are also planning to exit Facebook altogether, here's a handy guide to zip up all your data before you hit that delete account button.

The feature is rolling out in phases, and if you haven’t received it, just wait it out and the app will be updated automatically with the new feature.

In other Facebook news, the company launched Facebook Shops as online storefronts gain popularity due to Coronavirus. You can read more about that here. 

logo
Digit NewsDesk

The guy who answered the question 'What are you doing?' with 'Nothing'.

Digit caters to the largest community of tech buyers, users and enthusiasts in India. The all new Digit in continues the legacy of Thinkdigit.com as one of the largest portals in India committed to technology users and buyers. Digit is also one of the most trusted names when it comes to technology reviews and buying advice and is home to the Digit Test Lab, India's most proficient center for testing and reviewing technology products.

We are about leadership-the 9.9 kind! Building a leading media company out of India.And,grooming new leaders for this promising industry.

DMCA.com Protection Status