iOS 11 users cannot secretly record Snaps anymore

By IANS | Updated 16 Oct 2017
iOS 11 users cannot secretly record Snaps anymore
  • Snapchat has started notifying the user every time someone uses the "Screen Recording" feature to save "Snaps" on iOS 11

Popular photo-sharing app Snapchat has started notifying the user every time someone uses the "Screen Recording" feature to save "Snaps" on iOS 11 operating system (OS). "That is good news for users, but it does not mean they are safe to post anything they want. As always, everything can still be saved by other users," Independent.co.uk reported late on Friday.

advertisements

Earlier, the company allowed iOS 11 users to record other users' "Snaps" secretly, without the person who posted them realising. The "Screen Recording" feature comes with the free iOS 11 update. However, the user needs to tweak their device's settings to make it appear in the control centre.

Meanwhile, Snapchat is expected to overtake Facebook for the first time in the US, as the user growth of the latter is set to slow among teens and adults, a report by market research firm eMarketer said in September. Snapchat is forecast to overtake both Instagram and Facebook in terms of total users aged 12-17 and 18-24 for the first time in 2017, that will shoot up Snapchat's share of US social network users to 40.8 per cent.

The app currently has 166 million users globally.

advertisements
advertisements
IANS
Indo-Asian News Service
advertisements
ASK DIGIT

Recent Questions

IOS 8
Joel Paul
Sept 18, 2014
Responses 5
drivil
Sept 19, 2014
Vivek Bhatt
Sept 20, 2014
Jyoti Prakash
Sept 21, 2014
samuel browne
Sept 21, 2014
t ruth pushpalatha
Sept 21, 2014
Comments
Be the first one to post the comment
Post a New Comment
You must be signed in to post a comment
advertisements