Deal of the day : Realme 7 Pro available at discounted price
With 6 GB RAM and 128 GB storage and 5% off with Amazon Pay on all bank debit/credit cards
Click here to know moreAdvertisements
Ever wonder how your data is automatically restored when moving to a new device and logging into your Google account? Well, it’s because all that data is backed up on Google Drive and is restored once the user logs into a device, given the option is enabled. Google usually backs up your data automatically to Google Drive but it is now rolling out a new option that enables manual backup of your data on a device. One will be able to access the option to manually back up their data by navigating to Backup in their device’s settings. This was first sighted by a twitter user and we can also confirm the same since the option is showing up on some of our devices.
This new feature is a welcomed addition since Android smartphones automatically backup to Drive only when the phone is connected to Wi-Fi and plugged into the charger. In case these two conditions aren’t met, there is a chance that your data hasn’t been backed up in a while. Using this new option is a good way to ensure that all your data has been backed up before you reset a device or move on to a new one. Do note that in case you are not connected to the Wi-Fi, Android will ask you whether you want to perform the backup over a metered connection.
Google recently introduced some new features to its Drive too. It now shows a new ‘Priority’ page that employs the company’s AI and machine learning algorithms to better sort and organise files, as well as make them easier to find. Priority in Drive uses AI to see what users are working on and suggest actions accordingly. It also automatically assembles users’ working sets of files into flexible workspaces, provides enhanced search based on users’ history and preferences, and makes it easy for users to find files associated with their latest collaborators. You can read more about it here.