X Chat introduces Numbers to let you receive calls and messages from non-followers, here is how it works

Highlights

X Chat users can share the private code to receive DMs and calls without revealing their phone number.

Messages from someone using your X Number can reach your DMs, even with a closed inbox.

You can refresh yout X Number to get a new code or disable it altogether to stop using the feature.

X Chat, the messaging platform of X (formerly Twitter), introduced X Numbers, a feature which will allow users to connect with others without sharing mobile numbers or following each other. The update was announced by X Chat in a post on the microblogging platform on Tuesday. It is an attempt by the “privacy-focused” messaging app to help users establish communication without a phone number or email.

According to X’s Help Center, X Number is a “private code” that can be shared with users whom you wish to receive messages or calls from. This function will work regardless of whether the sender and recipient are mutual followers. The feature is optional and will not affect what others will see when they message you. This will serve as an additional means of communication.

If a user has enabled this feature and a person enters that code, they can send a DM even if you have configured a closed inbox. This message will go straight to your inbox and not to message requests. Plus, if call settings allow, the person can also call you using the feature.

People with whom you have already exchanged DMs can view your X Number and share it with others. If you wish to hide your number, you can turn on the “Hide from others” setting of X Number. Meanwhile, here is how you can create your 8-digit X Number.

How to create X Number:

  1. Open X Chat and enter the PIN (if prompted)
  2. From the inbox dropdown menu, choose “Number”
  3. Switch the toggle to “Enabled” to start using the feature
  4. You can tap on the ‘Share’ button to share your code with the person you wish to be contacted from

To change your Number, tap the ‘Refresh’ button and a new code will be allocated for your account. After you ‘Refresh’ the number, the old code will no longer work for communication. To turn the feature off, you can disable the toggle.

Vikas Yadav

Vikas Yadav Vikas, a Copy Editor at Digit, writes to express his interest in technology. He covers consumer-centric tech news while hunting the day's most "VFM" smartphone deal. Plus, this curious geek enjoys digging into the last-mile intricacies of latest gadgets. Before Digit, he reported for Jagran English. Off work, you'll find him emotionally attached to historical sites or lost in tales of India's past. Simply put, tech is his 9-to-5, the rest is history.

View full profile