Facebook starts rolling out Reactions across all platforms

By Shrey Pacheco | Updated 26 Feb 2016
Facebook starts rolling out Reactions across all platforms
  • Reactions will give Facebook users the choice of six emojis when reacting to a post, instead of a simple ‘Like’. A 'dislike' button, however, still goes amiss

Facebook has started rolling out Reactions to let users express themselves better when reacting to a post, instead of the simple ‘Like’ that is deployed now. Users can now choose from six emojis when reacting reacting to a post, which are Like, Love, Haha, Wow, Sad or Angry. To add one of these Reactions, users can either hover over the Like button when in desktop, or press and hold the button when on mobile. Additionally, Facebook will now display the total number of Reactions that a post will get, instead of just likes.


Sammi Krug, Product Manager for Facebook said in a post, “We understand that this is a big change, and want to be thoughtful about rolling this out. For more than a year we have been conducting global research including focus groups and surveys to determine what types of reactions people would want to use most. We also looked at how people are already commenting on posts and the top stickers and emoticons as signals for the types of reactions people are already using to determine which reactions to offer.” Facebook had announced that it was testing the feature in October 2015, and Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg said that the new emojis would allow users to better express themselves.

Shrey Pacheco
Writer, gamer, and hater of public transport.

Recent Questions

Starting out
Parag Jadhav
Sept 6, 2014
Responses 4
samuel browne
Sept 9, 2014
t ruth pushpalatha
Sept 10, 2014
Sept 10, 2014
satish k
Sept 10, 2014
Be the first one to post the comment
Post a New Comment
You must be signed in to post a comment