user review

Overall Rating
4.8/ 5
Based on 10 Rating
  • 5 star

    8

  • 4 star

    2

Based on 10 Rating

user review

  • Nice laptop with some manufacturing defect according to me.
    Krunal Patil on Flipkart.com | 20-01-2020

    So after 3 months I've decided to put in my review. Please check reviews of specific laptop before buying. I've faced some problems while using laptop but first I'll go with pros and cons. Pros: 1. Battery life is very nice. while playing games on performance mode (on battery) I get at least 2.5 hrs of battery life. 2. Performance is nice. But not the best. I got 30-50 fps when playing Sniper Ghost Warrior Contracts on Ultra settings. Cons:(Please do consider this) 1. No HDD support. So I purchased a NVME drive of 1 TB. But the second m.2 slot runs on PCI-E express 3.0 x2 (not x4). 2. See the second image I've uploaded. the vents are covered with some plastic paper. Hence the CPU & GPU is thermal throttling. And also the thermal paste job is bad on CPU & GPU both.(I've written about the fix down below) 3. CPU suddenly locks on 400 mhz speed after sometime. I've to restart everytime when this happens 4. No RGB lighting. I'm fond of lights but I'm disappointed with ASUS for no RGB lighting as ASUS provides RGB lighting on their lower end Strix laptops. Heating Fix: Note: This process will void your warranty. I didn't had time to go to ASUS service center and get it replaced. So I researched all night and got this solution 1. Remove back panel and see the vents covered with plastic frame.There's a metal plate above it so you have to cut it out. Take any sharp cutting tool(I used crafting knife) and cut off the plastic paper from the back panel. 2. Open up the heat sink and heat pipes(both are connected). Clean up the thermal paste with Iso Propyl alcohol. Make sure you don't apply any excessive pressure to CPU & GPU as they are the most fragile & expensive parts in any system. There's a yellow transparent plastic on CPU plastic. Remove it. Apply another thermal paste on CPU & GPU die(You have to buy it personally). Reinstall the heat sink and heat pipe assembly and also the back panel. 3. Install Ryzen Controller software and set the PPT Fast limit to 25 & PPT Slow limit to 16. Save and Restart the laptop. I followed these steps and got a good result. Not I don't get any thermal throttle and CPU isn't stuck on 400 mhz speed.

  • Excellent
    Pranav Janardhanan on Flipkart.com | 20-12-2019

    Very Good quality product with a really slick design.The display while not very bright it's 120 hertz refresh rate is really good and smooth. A little bit of noise comes from fan when put in Turbo mode, but if you are playing a game you would hardly notice that. Asus dashboard is good at customizing various profiles to run games including memory cleanup to boost game performance.Good fps(60+) for games like Gears of War 5, Crew2, City Skylines, Witcher 3 in high settings.The 1660ti is no slouch.

  • Worth the money
    SHASHANK KUMAR on Flipkart.com | 20-12-2019

    Keep a few things in mind this is a max-q version so if you compare it with gtx 1660ti of other laptops you are straight up wrong to do so. It's because of max-q and the 72 watt hour battery you get an amazing battery back up. It's extremely compact for a gaming laptop and the fans, tho they get really loud do a good job at cooling. The only thing I didn't really like about this laptop is how dirty it can start looking because of the fingerprint marks within a few days and those are almost impossible to remove. I've just got used to it now and it doesn't matter much to me. I find it a better purchase than the Helios 300 as I need that battery and don't really need that extra 10-20 fps in games as I'm not very concerned with using ultra details in the games I play. If it is the performance you are concerned with you get better performance than the gtx 1060 desktop version. and the CPU is decent. I don't have any issue with the display as I'm moving from TN 60hz and this is like heaven to me. You will have to get good quality headphones if you plan to do any intensive work on it as the fans sound like it's heavily raining around you (it actually confused my sister once).

  • Mind-blowing purchase
    Bhaskar Kashyap on Flipkart.com | 20-11-2019

    About initial Impression : Package : Just fine, but the inner box (Laptop Box) had tons of scratches all over, may be due to shipping within warehouse before making package But, everything was intact ! Laptop was covered by a thin plastic case Serial number mentioned on box, bill, laptop and when turned on the same was shown on screen, were the same ! About the Laptop : Kindly update BIOS and all the other drivers followed by everlasting windows updates (hectic though) This is a decent budget friendly Premium Gaming Notebook ! It's better and recomended to use power cord for better performance than playing the same with battery, otherwise battery life may affect in long run Average backup will be around 3-4 hours if used for non-gaming purpose Cons: Speakers are mounted below the laptop so audio may be muffled if laptop is not kept on elevated surface may be a laptop stand (built-in fan) Fan sound will definitely impact the surrounding ambience with it's power blow when a huge task is being executed (not only games) Top lid of laptop is a metal frame but, it can easily catches the finger print impressions and looks really awful, even the slightest touch will get the impression of fingers. keep microfiber cloth handy to clean it. Screen appears to be backlight bleeding not sure if it's really a screen-bleed, you will notice especially when you encounter dark colors during gaming , sometime it looks horrible ! I've got this for 60k by swapping 5-years old Laptop ! Adding few more (After using it for more than a month) Weird coil whining is observed, though it doesn't affect performance wise yet it's annoying. Once system shutdowns, the power via usb on left side of lap, can still be able to lit-up the mouse/keyboard light means it's still ON ? ! There can be a electric jolt or tingling sensation on lid when if power cord is plugged into a junction box or some sort of spike busters (could be Earthing problem) Still Armoury crate is buggy, needs improvement for this model Regarding screen bleed / glow, I'm quite surprised, just after few taps on surrounding area (bezel), seems like it just disappeared or it's visibility is too less or might have gone forever !

  • Worth every penny
    Noor Mohamad on Flipkart.com | 20-11-2019

    Awesome laptop very fast with higher configuration

  • Mind-blowing purchase
    Raj kumar Bhaiya on Flipkart.com | 20-11-2019

    I got this laptop at 60k price in big billion day. I got 20k exchange on my old laptop and other bump up discount of 40k. great laptop and great performance. display is best for everyone every day use.sound quality awesome and great . Good battery backup. Nice metal finish. no webcam is disappointed. but laptop is excellent under 90k price range...

  • Fabulous!
    Rajaganapathy Kalidas on Flipkart.com | 20-10-2019

    Best in class. worth the price 80k. Sleek stylish, if you need better performance go for the Intel processor model. nvidioa 1660 ti is the monster. I use it for renders and BIM. too good. Design is excellent. Cant take my eyes off it. Just a One quair note to carry out. Go for it.

  • Brilliant
    Sameer Minhas on Flipkart.com | 20-10-2019

    laptop is working as expected like a beast.!!! but display is not colour accurate and their is a little screen bleeding in my model. And fans can be bit too noisy while playing heavy games. But the laptop is powerfully enough to give 60+ fps in almost all AAA FPS games.! just go for it if you are looking for a good battery and good performance laptop.!

  • Fabulous!
    Ph_Friend on Flipkart.com | 20-10-2019

    *UPDATES: (with Asus ROG game visual,the software will give the default display colours are more appealing and brighter, depends on the type of visual you will prefer. As expected. The entire unit are in good condition. my first impression. Display RGB colours are good. Even others are saying that the colour are less punching, but for me its natural. The Brightness would have been more brighter, but I’m normally using the 80% of daily use with all my laptops, so this is fine with me. But for gaming and movies, the 100% is just sufficient. The sound is down strike, but the sound is quite solid and load, far beyond my expectations. I will add more review soon.

  • Classy product
    Siddhant Bahuguna on Flipkart.com | 20-10-2019

    I got this laptop during big billion days sale for 80K If you want it for less wait for some time for Gaming Friday deals which come every week. Coming to the review: Pros: 1. Battery: Amazing battery life considering its a gaming laptop. If you keep the brightness around 50% ( 135 nits ) and make sure there are no background tasks running ( like nvidia share which is used for game casting on internet ) while you are working also keep backlit off if you are working in adequate lights and keeping it on battery savee mode you will get around 6 hours which is really something. I use it for development + gaming. 2. Performance: It has one of the fastest GPU with a decent cpu which gives rock solid performance, the video flipkart has uploaded with games framerates is not close to what I got. I think the flipkart tech team made the video with older nvidia drivers or on battery instead of plugging it in which gives amazing framerates. I tested cs go on max setting and got average of 145+ fps with 112 1% low. To see list of games tested, check the video of 20 games tested on Asus Rog Zephyrus G on YouTube. 3. Portability: If you have been using a thick laptop like lenovo ideapad y510p you are going to love the weight and thickness of the laptop which makes it kind of an ultrabook. No laptop in this segment offers this thickness and weight. 4. Charging times: It takes around 1 hour 40 mins or full charge from 0 to 100 which is I felt is a pro. Cons: 1. Display: It has a sucky display which is not great for people who are looking to do creative work and are picky about colour precision. So do check the video reviews to see if you are okay with rgb and srgbs this screen gives. 2. The charger is a little thick. They could have invested in this to get a more compact charger. This review is after extensive use of this laptop for around 2 days. Edit: After 2 weeks of heavy usage. After 4 days of heavy usage I got BSOD at random times, Whenever I was working in my office ( I do web development with visual studio and had multiple projects and node servers running including the wsl node server) it just shut down!. I was even ready to send the laptop back but after researching what was the blue screen about I discovered it was due to kernel low power which was listed as a critical error in windows event viewer ( google about windows event viewer to know more if you are getting the same error ) I checked for the fix at and found out that I needed to change the battery saver, balanced and performance setting of turning off hard disk and other components to never also making sure every driver is updated and installed version 208 of the bios ( get the latest bios from Asus website ). After all the above things I updated my windows as well and never saw the same error again. Also I noticed ( in the task manager ) that most of the windows processes were taking up loads of cpu usage before the windows update and after the update every process was getting. low to very low pwer usagae trend which increased the battery life and made it possible to get around 9.5 hours which is amazing!

Digit caters to the largest community of tech buyers, users and enthusiasts in India. The all new Digit in continues the legacy of Thinkdigit.com as one of the largest portals in India committed to technology users and buyers. Digit is also one of the most trusted names when it comes to technology reviews and buying advice and is home to the Digit Test Lab, India's most proficient center for testing and reviewing technology products.

We are about leadership — the 9.9 kind Building a leading media company out of India. And, grooming new leaders for this promising industry

DMCA.com Protection Status