Android users will now get a notification that will alert them whenever there is a log in to their account from another device. Before this, Google used to send an email to users to inform them about the log in. However, while this feature was definitely useful, it was possible that a user might see the warning after the potential damage has been done. Google noted in its blog that users were up to four times as likely to review information in Android notifications as compared to email notifications.
When there is a log in from a new device, the user will then get a notification, from where users will have the option to “Review Account Activity” if the activity is suspicious. This will allow them to get additional information such as what device was added and where it the log in was from. If the activity was expected, then users can dismiss it just like any other notification. Google says that the feature will be rolled out gradually and may take more than 14 days for it to be visible.
A couple of months ago, Google had started offering users a new way of locating lost Android and iOS smartphones via the company’s My Account hub. The hub now offers a Find my Phone section that can be used to access the list of phones that the user owns. From there, they could choose to lock the device with a password and set a message and a call back number for anyone who finds the phone. Users can also sign out or erase all data from the device.