Following reports that Facebook had deleted messages sent by its CEO, Mark Zuckerberg to various users had been deleted without any disclosure. It seems like Facebook will soon offer all users the option to delete sent messages. The company admitted to Tech Crunch that it had deleted some messages after the publication revealed that it had email receipts as proof of the deleted messages.
Facebook told Tech Crunch, “We have discussed this feature several times. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer — and have their messages automatically deleted. We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.”
Facebook also noted that it already offers a timer function that users can set that would delete messages after a specific amount of time. However, this feature is only available if the conversation is started in ‘Secret Conversation’. However, the messages that were deleted were from a regular conversation.
This news comes at a time when the company is still reeling for the Cambridge Analytica data breach. Following the breach, Zuckerberg has apologised and has agreed to testify. The data breach also included the data of over 5 lakh Indian’s being shared with Cambridge Analytica.