user review

Overall Rating
4.3/ 5
Based on 10 Rating
  • 5 star

    6

  • 4 star

    2

  • 3 star

    1

  • 2 star

    1

Based on 10 Rating

user review

  • Simply awesome
    Kaushik up on Flipkart.com | 20-07-2019

    first of all the build quality and design of the laptop is awesome. display is the best in this price range since you are getting an IPS display(full HD) it looks like a premium laptop and at the same time offers a good performance ryzen 5 is quite good and the Vega 8 integrated graphics can handle majority games like call of duty,NFS,farcry 3/4, assassins creed, GTA 5. battery lasted for about 6-7 hours of normal usage which is pretty good (at low level of brightness) you get fingerprint unlock but it's not the fastest

  • Terrific purchase
    Shivam Thakur on Flipkart.com | 20-07-2019

    Display

  • Must buy!
    navajyoth mp on Flipkart.com | 01-02-2019

    A beastly bang for the buck product... bought it for 38000 during republic sale Pros Ryzen 5 processor IPS display backlit keyboard slim design full metallic body 180° tilt monitor have type c port u can get 2 years extended warranty for just 1179 by registering at shop.acer.in or 1year accidental protection and 2 year extended warranty for 1700 just call acer customercare if u have any doubts cons slight light bleed on top corner of the ips display (only noticible during really dark screen) small cooler due to slim design a better cooler would have resulted better performance from the APU cooler went is on the back...when u lift the monitor up the air wents between the monitor and body no cd drive and ethernet port Advice for people who want better gaming performance the ryzen 5 is a beast APU for laptop but the power sharing between the processor and APU is not perfect for example during gaming the processor sometimes clocks up to 3.5 ghz limiting power to the GPU so it clocks down to 600-700 mhz from the max 1200mhz at first i thought it was cooling but its not just the temp...it never goes above 80 even when playing GTA V i found with msi afterburner that the GPU clocks higher during battery mode than when powered on resulting better smooth performance when running on battery than when plugged in...the reason is during battery mode the processor limits its clockspeed giving more power for the GPU and when powered on the cpu clocks higher power throttling GPU for people who want better gaming performance than stock create a custom power profile in control panel which restrict maximum cpu state to 40% this locks cpu around 2000mhz that gives the GPU much better power delivery and allows it to stay around 900mhz result gtav @ 900p custom setting high shaders and high grass othe settings mostly loe and normal gives 30-40 fps other games i tried alien isolation, Max Payne 3 ,NFS run all can deliver above 30 fps at max 1080p settings pubg mobile gives around 40 @ hd resolution cant set higher than that

  • Bad experience
    Ali Asgar K.B. Wala on Flipkart.com | 01-01-2019

    In the initial product, the windows was not genuine as mentioned on the description and invoice. After many complaints, flipkart decided to replace it. I got the laptop with genuine windows but it has anther problem - the screen has a yellow tinge. I again applied for a replacement but their is no response from flipkart till date. Its been over a month. They basically sent me another returned laptop that was lying in their warehouse. I understand that this space is for reviewing the product but the service is an integral part of the entire experience and there is no other place I can make people know this.

  • Good quality product
    Nitin Meena on Flipkart.com | 01-09-2018

    Review after a week of use:- Performance of laptop is very good. once you updated the window (7.5gb update -_-) fingerprint sensor:- not very good quite slow but i think after adding ssd it will perform good Display:- Best speaker:- 4 out of 5 Body design:- i think this is best thing about this laptop metal body is just wow. screen Hinge is little tight you have to use both the hands to open the screen

  • Sleek, sturdy and powerful
    Lal on Flipkart.com | 01-08-2018

    Been using this interesting device extensively for some time now. Thought of taking some time to review. I had to buy the Windows version. Yes, "I had" to. Linux suffices my use case. I was waiting for the Linux version to come in stock and it never happened for a long time. So I just grabbed the chance when there was an offer. Well, that is, in a way, an advantage. I could run some games and engineering software, if I wish, some day, which I did, you will see below. So I booted in to Windows the first day, and everything worked, including the finger print reader. I had found a bunch of reviews that the finger print reader doesn't work properly. But, once you get the knack of it, it is a breeze and works always, for me. It does not boot up super fast, blame the HDD, I guess, but it is not slow. Once up and running, I experienced no glitches. My windows love did not last long. I shrunk the windows partition the maximum and installed Open SUSE Tumbleweed in there. Oh yeah, then I booted "Love", the beautiful "infinite" Tumbleweed. Quick note to anyone trying to dual boot, create four partitions each for, Root, Home, Swap and EFI. SUSE bootloader handles dual-booting gracefully. Well, everything works in Linux except the fingerprint reader. No one seems to be interested in writing a driver for that peripheral But, I could live with that. All the mousepad gestures in windows except pinch zoom seem to work in SUSE, KDE as well; one finger, two fingers, three fingers and scrolling. I have been extensively using some engineering and photo editing software along with a lot of browsing over wifi in the past few days and the machine has not let me down. Booting is a notch faster in Linux, but not by a huge margin. I haven't experienced any difference in battery backup between Linux and Windows. Although, the sleep mode in Windows seem to conserve a bit more power than in Linux. It might not be a great idea to just close the lid, send the device to sleep, and let it stay like that for a very long time. In my observation, over 8 hours in sleep, the battery lost 4% and that translates to, theoretically 8 days in sleep before the battery gets empty starting at 100%. I have not done a similar observation on windows and cannot claim if it is really better than Linux (may be someone else could chip in with that data). I shut it down mostly, unless I will want to fire it up soon. No glitches in user experience so far, everything feels snappy, smooth and responsive. If you want windows "night light" in Linux, you could try "redshift", works well. I booted up windows again and tried some trending, heavy on graphics, games and I am delighted that all those were playable. And some, not just in the minimum details, rather medium or even high quality settings. The 8 Vega cores in AMD's Ryzen are really sizzling and seriously delighting! Any day, better than Intel HD graphics. I feel it is like a nice package, You have good 4 CPU cores (8 threads) and 8 GPU cores which are way powerful and really actually useful that lets you play games. AMD is in the game Intel, brace yourself. I did not describe Acer Swift yet! The looks are elegant and simple. The brushed grey coloured metal makes it sturdy and gives it the pretty looks. It could easily take some bumps, I feel; not that I would deliberately try that. Display is glossy, with a layer of Corning Gorilla Glass. I cannot technically describe how good the colour reproduction is, with some numbers, but I feel it is comparable to any good screen. Umm, it is not the brightest screen, that is right, far less brighter than other screens I have seen at its maximum. The edges of the laptop being sharp is somewhat true. Even though there is proper chamfer at the edges, it feels sharp. The trouble is where two sheet metals join and the bottom one is not chamfered. Not that it will cut your skin. It won't be noticeable at all if you do not use the laptop in awkward positions. On a table, set flat, it is a perfect design. Ample space for the wrists to rest, big mouse pad and a nice keyboard, that is a good design. Oh, the keyboard backlight, that is profit! And hint: you can reduce the screen backlight way less than what is possible in windows, as if reading an e-paper. It seems to have decent cooling design, I haven't felt any unbearable heat on my lap or fingers and haven't experienced any performance throttling because of temperature rise. It can recreate decent sound, "Acer TrueHarmony", as they call it. Speakers are placed on the curved front face below the bottom platform and they are decently loud with rather brilliant bandwidth. Do not expect thumping base of course. Battery takes around two hours to get fully charged from zero. In short: I liked the machine. It has the power to run resource hungry applications, handles recent games although may be not with the highest graphic quality settings, could take a few physical bumps or hits, has a nice screen with usable battery.

  • Value-for-money
    Sooraj A on Flipkart.com | 01-06-2018

    Got it few hours ago.Happy for the product.It looks good and also the build quality is awesome.The display is not bad as many says,reflection on the screen may be annoying sometimes though. Back lit keyboard is great. Finger print scanner is not that slow as in the reviews. Speakers are loud enough. Over all the hardware parts are highly satisfying. Not checked battery performance yet but it takes some times to get fully charged. I liked the performance overall haven't tried hard games or such that.Mine is windows 10 version. Excel, Power point and word was already installed in it. Overall I liked it. AMD Ryzen should not be a deal breaker for you since it is really good and come on par with i5 8th gen. Definitely a good option for 43k. The build quality and display makes this one better choice than Acer aspire 5. If you are a gamer go for aspire 5. It's not because this one is poor for gaming but aspire has really great gpu. I will update this one later if anything feels wrong.

  • Very Good
    Shivansu Maji on Flipkart.com | 01-05-2018

    Got Linux version for 43,240. And I'm currently running Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver on this beauty. Here goes some other important points to be noted. HARDWARE As mentioned innother reviews this is the finest and most capable hardware you could get under 48-50k right now. Everything is just as mentioned. Other points to be noted are # Screen was better than I expected. Some users seem to disagree but the IPS panel is better than the TFT LCD available on most competition. Screen is covered in glass which along with toughness, makes it look premium. There is noticeable backlight bleed while on a black screen. #You CANNOT upgrade from initial 8GB of RAM. #You CAN add an M.2 SSD in the future. My advice - Upgrade to a 120GB SSD available for around 3000 and store your Operating System and Drivers there, store every thing else on the massive 1TB HHD drive. It will give you a massive speed boost. #Battery Backup is NOT at all impressive. On Ubuntu, it gives around 4 hours of battery life on just moderate usage. Also not the fastest charging battery out there. # Built Quality amazing and design is a eyeball grabber. Both the thumbs up for that Acer. SOFTWARE & LINUX COMPATIBILITY #In case you find Linux Version cheaper but want Original Windows, Original Windows 10 PRO email activation keys are available on Snapdeal for as low as 550. You can save a lot of bucks by installing it later. Though it needs some thechnical know-how for that. #This comes with Linpus Linux Lite OS preinstalled which is basically a command Terminal. You need to make a Bootable Pen Drive containing your choosen OS's ISO image. (Its actually not that complicated as it sounds, just google it and follow the instructions, yes you'd need another computer for doing it on your own). Better have the Bootable Pendrive ready before receiving the product... or hey just take it to a PC repair shop and ask them to do it, wouldn't charge any more than 200. #The Fingerprint Sensor as of now doesn't work with Ubuntu (or any Linux disto). Fingerprint GUI can't detect it. Driver issue probably. #Acer does NOT seem to support Linux much and doesn't provide necessary drivers on their site. That may lead to some problems while using Linux. #As of May 2018, Steam FAILS to run on Ubuntu 18.04. I suspect that it's not yet fine tuned for the AMD Vega 8 Integrated graphics, as it is relatively new. #My Ubuntu 18.04 for some reason boots very slow on this device. It takes around a minute and a half. Will Update later if I find something else.

  • Simply awesome
    Flipkart Customer on Flipkart.com | 01-03-2018

    Awesome laptop Adobe premiere pro and Adobe after effects,filmora go,other editing apps almost all editing software working fine .works smoothly.best laptop for youtubers

  • Classy product
    Yasir Sheriff on Flipkart.com | 01-03-2018

    pros finger print sensor metallic design good processor ips display backlit keyboard GTA 5 medium 40 to 60 fps farcry primal 30 fps slim and sleek design cons no extended ram poor display quality no laptop bag no Ethernet port & vga port integrated graphics

Digit caters to the largest community of tech buyers, users and enthusiasts in India. The all new Digit in continues the legacy of Thinkdigit.com as one of the largest portals in India committed to technology users and buyers. Digit is also one of the most trusted names when it comes to technology reviews and buying advice and is home to the Digit Test Lab, India's most proficient center for testing and reviewing technology products.

We are about leadership — the 9.9 kind Building a leading media company out of India. And, grooming new leaders for this promising industry

DMCA.com Protection Status