Google+ to delete bogus profiles as it updates its Names Policy

Published Date
16 - Aug - 2011
| Last Updated
16 - Aug - 2011
 
Google+ to delete bogus profiles as it updates its Names Policy

The users with fake names on Google's new social network Google will be soon booted off. The Google has updated its “Names Policy” and made it mandatory for the users to use their real names on the social network. In case an account is found to be fake, the user will be given four days of time to correct it. The Google will remove the profile if the user does not clean up the act within that four day deadline. People signing up for the service are now required to use their name they use in the real world. The new move aims at making the social network more real and help people connect on the web same as connecting with people in the real world. [RELATED_ARTICLE]

Google is the latest social network experiment from the search engine giant. The new social network has gained a massive popularity soon after its launch. In fact it has been dubbed as the fastest growing website. The Google social network also surpassed the popularity of its rivals Facebook and Twitter in their initial days. Google has won accolades for its cleaner design and unique features such as Circles and group video chat.

“We’re listening, learning, and iterating to give our users the best experience possible. Starting today, if we find that your profile name does not adhere to our policy, we’ll give you a 4 day grace period to fix your profile name before we take further action. During this period, you can continue to use Google as usual. We're hoping that most affected users will be able to quickly fix their profile name while continuing to enjoy all that Google has to offer,” says Saurabh Sharma, Product Manager at Google .

Sharma also highlighted that a profile was suspended after it was found that the user was not complying with the “Names Policy” of Google . “Google believes you own your data. In the event you are unable to comply with our names policy, you can still take all your content with you, even after your profile is suspended. Visit Google Takeout for more details,” adds Sharma.
 

Also read,