Facebook launches privacy checkup tool, gives users more control on sharing

The privacy checkup helps users review things such as who they're posting to, which apps they are using and key privacy-related information through a few steps.

Published Date
23 - May - 2014
| Last Updated
23 - May - 2014
 
Facebook launches privacy checkup tool, gives users more control...

Following a fierce user backlash, Facebook has tweaked default privacy settings in order to give its users more control over sharing. Facebook is offering a new and expanded “Privacy Checkup” tool for people already on Facebook, while new users on Facebook start with friends audience for posts.

The social network has also switched off the controversial default setting that led many users to accidentally share their posts with the public rather with friends or a customised audience list.

“… going forward, when new people join Facebook, the default audience of their first post will be set to Friends. Previously, for most people, it was set to Public,” says Facebook in a post.

“First time posters will also see a reminder to choose an audience for their first post, and if they don’t make a choice, it will be set to Friends. People can change who they are posting to at any time, and can also change the privacy of their past posts too.”

For existing users on Facebook, the social network will be rolling out the “privacy checkup” tool, which will help people review things such as who they're posting to, which apps they are using and key privacy-related information through a few steps.

“We want to do all we can to put power and control in people’s hands. This new tool is designed to help people make sure they are sharing with just the audience they want. Everything about how privacy works on Facebook remains the same,” adds Facebook.

Facebook also points out some of the tools and features the social network has launched to help people control exactly what they want to share and with whom. The social network recently launched Anonymous login, a new way to log into apps without sharing any personal data from Facebook. Learn more about Anonymous login here.