Facebook asks users to ignore bikini picture spam link

Spammers target users by sharing links on Facebook to drive traffic to malicious websites.

By Silky Malhotra Published Date
23 - Jan - 2014
| Last Updated
23 - Jan - 2014
Facebook asks users to ignore bikini picture spam link

Facebook has warned its users of a viral bikini picture launched by scammers and asked them to ignore it. If users click on the link it directs them to what looks like an embedded video and then immediately gets shared on their profile to trick others. 

The video titled: "Look what this girl is wearing at the beach in front of thousands of people!" has already been shared by thousands of users.

The picture shows a woman in a bright pink bikini and its description says: "During the summer holidays, this girl took the opportunity to do something unheard of! I bet no one can do the same."

When users click on the link, they are directed to a new window and the fake link is then shared on their own profile so that others fall for the scam as well. The purpose of the link is to direct users to dubious websites riddled with malware.

Another popular link shows a man apparently being eaten whole by a snake. Users are asked to fill an online questionnaire before viewing the video. The purpose of the form is to drive traffic to certain websites. According to AOL, the scammers are paid for every questionnaire filled out. Facebook has urged users to ignore both these links. 

Security expert Graham Clueley told the site, "Clearly if they [the scammers] manage to trick *many* Facebook users into sharing the link, and use a sensational video as bait, they're going to get a lot more people clicking on the link."

He further added, "Don’t let the fraudsters and online criminals win. If you really want to watch a video, go to a site like YouTube which will never force you to share a link on Facebook or complete an online survey before you get to watch the content.”

Recently a new bug was reported in the Google Chrome browser. The bug lets malicious sites to activate your microphone and record your offline conversations around your laptop even after you’ve closed the tabs. The bug was reported by developer Tal Ater in September but even after 4 months the solution has not reached the desktop users.

Source: Mirror