How can we compress a 2GB file to 500 kb?
Menu

digit

 

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 53

Thread: How can we compress a 2GB file to 500 kb?

  1. #1
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default How can we compress a 2GB file to 500 kb?

    hey guys.... i wanna know how can i compress a 2GB file into a 500kb file. yesterday i have got a file sized 410kb rar which included 1 mdb file sized 2GB. can we do it with Winrar any version? is there any s/w to make a compress file like that? if i make one, is there any data damaging chance? now i tried with WinRar, but its make a 198 MB file to 170MB [best]

    thanks

  2. #2
    * Teh Flirt King * Quiz_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Originally From : Ratlam M.P., Currently in: Hyderabad
    Posts
    973

    Default

    2 gb file compressed to 500 kbs are u mad....

    Nothing can do that.....

  3. #3
    Wise Old Owl vijay_7287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,162

    Default

    something like this has been posted before

    i think there is something like a bomb
    does the file u got work properly???

  4. #4
    Wise Old Owl dIgItaL_BrAt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,135
    A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.

  5. #5
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    yes.. all the files are working properly..... and now i have got another one.... u won't believe that this one is a installation image... [Alcohol 120%].. thats why i'm asking the question, how can they done it? if they can, why can't we?

    have a look.... [due to pvc... deleted the names.. sorry]

  6. #6
    In The Zone hansraj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    456

    Default

    @warrior
    now it depends that which file are u trying to compress. If the file is a doc,xls,mdb then u can of course compress it to that extent but if u want to compress the image file or a video file (which is actually compressed) then u will not get any compresssion whatever u may use... winrar,winzip or whatever
    "An eye for an eye leaves the world blind." - Gandhi

    Athlon II X 4 620 Quad Core, Gigabyte GA-MA 785 GPMT, G-Skill DDR3 1333 Mhz 2GB X 2, Seagate 1 TB + Seagate 80 GB, Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

  7. #7
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    i know that hansraj.. i have tried it 2yrs back, after a unsuccess story .. i just ignored about tat [was n't a image].

    but now i have 4-7image file..... original downloaded size was 400-700 kb.... after that... just follow the above pic.... the red marked one is the source.. just have look on the winrar..... do you see the bird?
    -- For every action, there is an equal and opposite criticism.

    Nikon D3100, 18-55mm, 35mm, Simpex 333
    Flicker: [URL="http://www.flickr.com/photos/debaxish"]debaxish[/URL]
    Blackberry 9100, Xperia Ray

  8. #8
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    91

    Default

    how can someone compress a file to that extent.......... thats not possible.... halucinating or wat??

  9. #9
    Alpha Geek yrana2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    The Black Pearl
    Posts
    507

    Default

    There is something called a Mini-image which has come out now.

    "A mini-image is a partial image of the cd and includes a part of the program recorded on the cd (albeit a very small part). If used for legitimate back-up purposes (i.e. so that the game/app can be played/run by mounting the mini-image whilst the original is put away for safe-keeping), that's ok.

    However, if hex editing is required to make the mini-image, that involves a modification of part of the program without the copyright holder's permission and that is, of course, illegal.
    "

    These are just about 600KB-5MB & work as a No-cd crack, etc.

    Regarding other files, i remember a compressor called UHARC which had tremendous compression speeds, which had compressed GTA 3 into a 200MB folder. (However, the radio files & some sound files were deleted)
    Dont ever involve in a dispute with a fool. The viewers might not be able to distinguish between the two :rolleyes:

  10. #10
    9437077259 go4saket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sambalpur, Orissa
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    My dear friend, I guess you are mistaken in figures. Check out the image that you have posted.

    The file size it shows clearly says that the total compression if calculated is about 85% of the original file size, and compressing that is is pretty simple.

    The file size it is showing is in Bytes and not KB. If taking the first file as an example, the original file size if of 2719 KB and the compressed file is of 405 KB. Just ckeck it out again and you will see where you got mistaken...

  11. #11
    SignificantMind
    Guest

    Default

    Were not in nano age my friend. It's a hoax perhaps.

  12. #12
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by go4saket
    My dear friend, I guess you are mistaken in figures. Check out the image that you have posted.

    The file size it shows clearly says that the total compression if calculated is about 85% of the original file size, and compressing that is is pretty simple.

    The file size it is showing is in Bytes and not KB. If taking the first file as an example, the original file size if of 2719 KB and the compressed file is of 405 KB. Just ckeck it out again and you will see where you got mistaken...
    have you seen the image clearly.. may be you can't able to see the .mdf file sized 2gb.... and .mds file is 2mb. and the source is 410kb. so make the post after geting the point.. ok.
    i'm not trying to make the forum fool. if it is posible to us.. then we will able to reduce the HDD space use.

  13. #13
    Hanging, since 2004.. tarey_g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    hanging..
    Posts
    3,366

    Default

    warrior , try to mount that image and try to install whatever in it , it will not work .Why....?
    Its already explained here

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34784
    Windows 8 ? ლ(ಠ_ಠლ)
    I have a better OS installed, people call it Windows7. t(-_-t)

  14. #14
    In The Zone dinesh_mettur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    TamilNadu
    Posts
    239

    Default 2 gb 2 500kb

    it is highly impossible ....

  15. #15
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tarey_g
    warrior , try to mount that image and try to install whatever in it , it will not work .Why....?
    Its already explained here

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34784
    unf'ly..... i have installed [sorry... subject can't be disclosed]. its working fine. i can post a mounted image also... for that i need a time cuz after installing, i have only 1.5 GB space free.
    BTW.. i have 7zip and this is better than winrar, command line.. thats the drawback..

    i have seen the mini for games.... i'm not talking about this.... i'm abit confused that how come they compress like that....

    ps: the source of the file is a underground.

  16. #16
    Alpha Geek __Virus__'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    560

    Default

    The max till date i complresses was 80MB file to 900 kb using a program on neos site. coudnt file it anywhere now.

  17. #17
    9437077259 go4saket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sambalpur, Orissa
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by warrior
    Quote Originally Posted by go4saket
    My dear friend, I guess you are mistaken in figures. Check out the image that you have posted.

    The file size it shows clearly says that the total compression if calculated is about 85% of the original file size, and compressing that is is pretty simple.

    The file size it is showing is in Bytes and not KB. If taking the first file as an example, the original file size if of 2719 KB and the compressed file is of 405 KB. Just ckeck it out again and you will see where you got mistaken...
    have you seen the image clearly.. may be you can't able to see the .mdf file sized 2gb.... and .mds file is 2mb. and the source is 410kb. so make the post after geting the point.. ok.
    i'm not trying to make the forum fool. if it is posible to us.. then we will able to reduce the HDD space use.
    My dear friend, I am just not able to understand where the hell are you able to see a 2 GB size. The MDF file you are talking about is of 2,784,768 Bytes and the MDS file of 2850 Bytes, the total of which is 2,787,618 Bytes which is clearly visible in the address bar kind of thing in the picture that you have posted.

    Now, talking about the MDF file, if you convert 2,784,768 Bytes to KB, it comes to 2719 KB, i.e. 2.65 MB and the packed/compressed size is of 415,716 Bytes i.e. 406 KB i.e. 0.39 MB.

    Now, I should say that you should check your own image file before posting. Your address bar very clearly shows that the size are all in BYTES and not KB.

    Moreover, forget about Bytes/KB/MB/GB stuff. Check the compressed figures. Even if the figures would have been in MB or GB or what so ever, the compression percentage if you can calculate will give you answers to all your questions...

    Check it buddy... No offence...

  18. #18
    Alpha Geek Dipen01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    744

    Default

    May be Saket is rite....the address bar says...

    unpacked size [ 2,787,618 bytes == 2,787,618/1024 == 2772 kbytes ]

    [2772/1024 mbytes == 2.65 mbytes (MB)]

    So i guess compression from 2.65 MB to 500 KB is Okey...isnt it...??
    Correct me if am wrong..am just going by image !!!


    Well i had another doubt!! U people must be knowing that the setup file of Adobe Acrobat Reader is something around 15 MB. But when we install it it uncompresses to around 150 MB. How is it possible. I am not saying that it is not. as they have done...!!! But how do they compress to 10% and also with self extracting archive..
    I love walking in Rain ,because no-one knows i am Crying :|

  19. #19
    Wise Old Owl dOm1naTOr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Posts
    4,155

    Default

    Maybe its only a volume of a big archive. Suppose if we compress a 100 mb file and set the option divide into "say 10 mb" then we get about 10(or 9) 10mb files. If we open any one of them we can see the original file size as 100 mb and we might mistake that the 100MB file has been compressed to 10 mb. I think something like this has happened here.
    G1: PII X4 B50 4.0 | TRUE 120*2 | TA790GXB A2+ | 4GB DDR2 GSkill 1200 | Audigy 2 | HD4870 | HEC 550 | MX 518.
    G2: AII 240 | M2N 68AM+ | 3GB| 8800GT | Zebby Plat 500
    G3: XPS M1530 |
    FZ 16.

  20. #20
    Hanging, since 2004.. tarey_g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    hanging..
    Posts
    3,366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by warrior
    Quote Originally Posted by tarey_g
    warrior , try to mount that image and try to install whatever in it , it will not work .Why....?
    Its already explained here

    http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34784
    unf'ly..... i have installed [sorry... subject can't be disclosed]. its working fine. i can post a mounted image also... for that i need a time cuz after installing, i have only 1.5 GB space free.
    BTW.. i have 7zip and this is better than winrar, command line.. thats the drawback..

    i have seen the mini for games.... i'm not talking about this.... i'm abit confused that how come they compress like that....

    ps: the source of the file is a underground.

    Pls send me the file at tarey_g@yahoo.com , it will be clear than
    Windows 8 ? ლ(ಠ_ಠლ)
    I have a better OS installed, people call it Windows7. t(-_-t)

  21. #21
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In The Matrix
    Posts
    31

    Default

    there is a software called UHARC which can compress to a gr8 extent but im not sure whether it can compress Gigabytes into kilobytes. worth trying once though. the software is available here : http://brhack.net/mulder/public/down...2005-11-24.exe

  22. #22
    Alpha Geek __Virus__'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iwant2breakfree
    there is a software called UHARC which can compress to a gr8 extent but im not sure whether it can compress Gigabytes into kilobytes. worth trying once though. the software is available here : http://brhack.net/mulder/public/down...2005-11-24.exe
    What kind of stupid program is it? I downloaded, tried to compress an mpg file of 30 MB It took more than 40 minutes ( not a typo) to compress 50% of the file and file size is 15.5 MB another 45 minutes counts upto 1.5 hours to compress 1 file

  23. #23
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    sorry guys..... i can sent the file to you.. cuz.... yesterday.. when i see all the members saying that its impossible .. i just delete the file.. and now i have only the image file with me..... i'm trying to get the file again.. but that site is not responding.... i can give you tha link ... u can try yourself
    -- For every action, there is an equal and opposite criticism.

    Nikon D3100, 18-55mm, 35mm, Simpex 333
    Flicker: [URL="http://www.flickr.com/photos/debaxish"]debaxish[/URL]
    Blackberry 9100, Xperia Ray

  24. #24
    Fresh Stock Since 2005
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,015

    Default

    The compression depends on the structure of the file.......

    For example you cannot compress a compressed 200 Mb ZIP file by WinRAR or any other program to make it smaller........ It may be compressed to some extent but not much......

    WinRAR is a very good compression program but it is a shareware....... Well, if you can tolerate Nags, you can even use it for free........
    With the "Best" compression mode, it can do a good job.........

    If you think anything of 200 Mb can be converted to 100 Mb or such, then you need to learn more.......

    Just look at this for some surpries:
    http://crackmes.de/users/khattam/kha...opy_me_to_hdd/

    Basically, it is a crackme but you can see some compression.........

    The 200+ Mb file has been compressed to few kb..... This has worked to such an extent coz the compressed ISO file contains very little data and other parts are virtually blank (=other bytes are empty or similar)
    http://www.khattam.info

  25. #25
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    ok.. i heard something like that..... first you make a best compression.. after that u have to make a hex-edit to making the file size..... is it possible.. cuz doing that, chance to damage the file.. m i right?
    -- For every action, there is an equal and opposite criticism.

    Nikon D3100, 18-55mm, 35mm, Simpex 333
    Flicker: [URL="http://www.flickr.com/photos/debaxish"]debaxish[/URL]
    Blackberry 9100, Xperia Ray

  26. #26
    Wise Old Owl dIgItaL_BrAt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,135

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by __Virus__
    Quote Originally Posted by iwant2breakfree
    there is a software called UHARC which can compress to a gr8 extent but im not sure whether it can compress Gigabytes into kilobytes. worth trying once though. the software is available here : http://brhack.net/mulder/public/down...2005-11-24.exe
    What kind of stupid program is it? I downloaded, tried to compress an mpg file of 30 MB It took more than 40 minutes ( not a typo) to compress 50% of the file and file size is 15.5 MB another 45 minutes counts upto 1.5 hours to compress 1 file
    That's obvious,because MPEG itself is a compressed format,so u won't be able to acheive a high compression ratio.
    A)bort, R)etry, I)nfluence with large hammer.

  27. #27
    Alpha Geek yrana2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    The Black Pearl
    Posts
    507

    Default

    In context of games, the mini image can be the image of a 650MB ISO file, which comes to around 60KB or so.
    There is no compression involved in it.

    Basically, the game checks the start of a disc for "bad sectors". If they are there then the game is thought to be authentic and the game will start. When you read a full image you are reading the "bad sectors" at the start as well as all the other data.
    The problem is that all the install data etc that takes up over 99% of the space, this data is not needed to start the game, only to install it.

    What a mini-image does is keep only the data at the start that is used too authenticate the original disc.
    Dont ever involve in a dispute with a fool. The viewers might not be able to distinguish between the two :rolleyes:

  28. #28
    In The Zone
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    421

    Default

    post the link or PM me!

  29. #29
    Alpha Geek choudang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    857

    Default

    this is the link.....
    Code:
    http://rapidshare.de/files/9718800/Stacy.rar.html
    now, the result follows....
    Code:
    File /files/9718800/Stacy.rar.html has been deleted.
    Reason: THIS FILE IS FORBIDDEN TO BE SHARED! Complaints received.
    ps: i'm posting the link bcuz of above post.. so i did. hope that i won't get any tags with my id from the mods and admins

  30. #30
    Right off the assembly line
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How can we compress a 2GB file to 500 kb?

    The truth is that a torrent utility program can compress any gigawatt of file (docs, music, film, pics, program) into kilobytes. See http://www.what-is-torrent.com/ and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BitTorrent For the rest of you...don't be so arrogant to assume you know everything, asserting that such a thing doesn't exist or the user is mistaken. Whatever the mind of man can imagine, it exists!

Similar Threads

  1. how to compress pdf file
    By azaad_shri75 in forum Software Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 07:05 AM
  2. How to compress video file..?
    By qadirahmed in forum Software Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 07:45 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-08-2008, 01:36 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-09-2007, 02:12 PM
  5. how to compress a file?
    By karthik55859 in forum QnA (read only)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-08-2005, 12:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •