Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem
Menu

digit

 

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

  1. #1
    Apprentice Manickaraj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    90

    Default Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Hi guys,

    I need to get a new wifi modem for my BSNL broadband. I am on 512 kbps unlimited plan. Should I get the one being supplied by BSNL or should I get a better one myself? I am thinking of getting D-Link GLB-802C router ADSL2/2+. My budget is 1.5k. Thanks in advance guys

    I also would like to know about warranty.
    Popular Gadget Deals
    Intel C2Q Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz, ASUS P5QL-CM mobo, CORSAIR XMS2 2x2GB (800MHz), XFX 4870HD 1GB DDR5, 500 GB SEAGATE HDD (32 MB buffer), COOLERMASTER EXTREME POWER 600 W.

  2. #2
    Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend Liverpool_fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Нью-Дели
    Posts
    2,208

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Stay clear of D-Link routers. They aren't good. I suggest you to look for an OpenWRT compatible Linksys router (Wireless Access point)
    Experience true education in Computer Science - [url]http://www.udacity.com[/url] | [url]http://www.coursera.org[/url]

    [SPOILER][SIZE="2"]Read before asking / messaging any moderator for any query: [B][url=http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/rules-announcements/150151-faq-answers-new-members.html]FAQ + answers for new members[/url][/B]

    Read all the sticky threads before asking any type of query. Most basic questions are answered in those.
    Don't use forum for chatting. Visit [url]http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=krow[/url], enter nick and connect.
    [/SPOILER][/SIZE]

  3. #3
    Sin sinoop_joy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    354

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Isn't it possible to get a normal LAN wifi router and use old modem's output to route it ?

    If u want that, go for netgear modems... Go for N+ modems as they got the best range.
    But they are costlier.

    And Dlink is not gud..

  4. #4
    Apprentice Manickaraj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Quote Originally Posted by sinoop_joy View Post
    Isn't it possible to get a normal LAN wifi router and use old modem's output to route it ?

    If u want that, go for netgear modems... Go for N+ modems as they got the best range.
    But they are costlier.

    And Dlink is not gud..
    My current modem doen't work properly. Can u guys suggest a good modem under 1.5k.

    Netgear Wireless G Router [WGR614] is this a good modem to buy? It is priced around 1.6k. Pls give me ur suggestions too. Thanks
    Last edited by Manickaraj; 20-10-2010 at 07:58 PM. Reason: Added modem detail
    Intel C2Q Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz, ASUS P5QL-CM mobo, CORSAIR XMS2 2x2GB (800MHz), XFX 4870HD 1GB DDR5, 500 GB SEAGATE HDD (32 MB buffer), COOLERMASTER EXTREME POWER 600 W.

  5. #5
    Sin sinoop_joy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    354

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    I dont know any specific models dude..
    Sorry.. But i know that for best signal range ,u need to buy the N+ type routers. I got an internal wifi card of Netgear. It gives me range problems..
    It is of 'g' type.
    And my bro bought the D-Link router and he is always having problems with that...
    Phone : Nokia 6680 > W300i > Micromax Q1 > Micromax Q75 > [B]Nexus S I9023 with Illusion ROM[/B]
    Tablet : [B]Nexus 7 running ParanoidAndroid[/B]
    PC : Gave it off to Dad.
    Laptop : [B]Lenovo Y510p ; i7 4700 ; 8GB DDR3; 755M ; 250 SSD + 1TB HDD; Full HD Glossy [/B]

  6. #6
    Apprentice Manickaraj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Quote Originally Posted by sinoop_joy View Post
    I dont know any specific models dude..
    Sorry.. But i know that for best signal range ,u need to buy the N+ type routers. I got an internal wifi card of Netgear. It gives me range problems..
    It is of 'g' type.
    And my bro bought the D-Link router and he is always having problems with that...
    Thanks man. I bought a teracom wifi modem from bsnl as my budget dint give me much options.
    Intel C2Q Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz, ASUS P5QL-CM mobo, CORSAIR XMS2 2x2GB (800MHz), XFX 4870HD 1GB DDR5, 500 GB SEAGATE HDD (32 MB buffer), COOLERMASTER EXTREME POWER 600 W.

  7. #7
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    I use LinkSyS WAG120N, works great with BSNL.

  8. #8
    Right off the assembly line
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Quote Originally Posted by busymaverick View Post
    I use LinkSyS WAG120N, works great with BSNL.
    Hai Busymaverick

    Yesterfay i have bought Linksys WAG120N and i am also using BSNL BB ...

    can you please tell me the procedure to get internet wireless and through LAN also..

    Please reply me..

  9. #9
    Human Spambot
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2,077

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    I have been using WGR614 Model v10 and it's a great router

  10. #10
    In The Zone evewin89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    can anyone tell me the price of WGR614 Model v10 and is this model still the best for using with bsnl or LinkSyS WAG120N is a better one?
    Evil Lives 4ever......

  11. #11
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem

    Costs have greatly reduced in the last six months..

    For your budget u will get low end modem/routers
    IBall is low priced modem.. I cannot give a review about that..

    Routers Price List India: Network Components: Flipkart.com

    select a modem from here and post your selection. If possible i will check that out and let u know..

    Up ur budget to 2500 and get a netgear.
    Cisco(WAG120N) one is costlier..

    Flipkart: Cisco Linksys Wireless-N Home ADSL2 Modem Router: Router

    this is the WAG120N that i was talking about.

    Quote Originally Posted by rgvarma_26 View Post
    Hai Busymaverick

    Yesterfay i have bought Linksys WAG120N and i am also using BSNL BB ...

    can you please tell me the procedure to get internet wireless and through LAN also..

    Please reply me..

    I know its too late to reply.. but i have been offline for 6 months..
    using GPRS so not much activity
    If u still need the clarifications please mail me on busymaverick@gmail.com

Similar Threads

  1. Modem for BSNL Broadband
    By jagzviruz in forum Peripherals
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2011, 02:43 PM
  2. Need A Wifi Modem for BSNL BB
    By detonator2359 in forum Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-07-2011, 09:49 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-01-2009, 11:27 PM
  4. BSNL broadband modem Help
    By Stalker in forum Hardware Q&A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-08-2006, 04:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •