GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network
Menu

digit

 

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

  1. #1
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    hi,
    I wanted to use my wired internet on laptop inside galaxy s2.SO i started looking out for options dig deep into many forums.One solution was to use connectify-me and make laptop as wifi hotspot but problem after so much trial and error is android itself does not support AD-HOC wifi mode.
    Can someone please tell how can anyone use laptop/PC internet inside galaxy s2 other than purchasing wifi dongle and simply using wifi inside laptop or USB.

    P.s I dont want to root my phone because one solution suggesting to root the device but i am not that desperate to play with my new phone.

    Put ur sharp brains to test and pls tell me what u can do to solve this issue.

    Its mostly android issue but device also does not provide any solution to use PC internet in mobile.

    bye.

  2. #2
    The Mighty Unkel!!! RCuber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Posts
    6,565

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    if you laptop is working as a wifi hotspot then you should be able to connect your phone normally using the wifi..
    the cake is a lie.
    Reddit is my source.
    621311.251521

  3. #3
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    yes laptop's wifi as hotspot transmits it in AD-HOC mode but ICS in galaxy s2 atleast does not detect this AD-HOC mode signal.I need workaround this problem.

  4. #4
    The Mighty Unkel!!! RCuber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Posts
    6,565

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    do you have any other device which is able to connect to you laptop?
    the cake is a lie.
    Reddit is my source.
    621311.251521

  5. #5
    Master troll red dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,430

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    There was some workaround to connect to ad-hoc network in GB @xda,do not know about ICS.
    It was just a change in permission in GB,should not be much difficult with ICS also!
    BTW somehow GS2 connected to ad-hoc network created with a Mac when I had it.
    Macbook Air 11"2011,Iphone 4S 16GB,Ipad2,Sennheiser HD-25 1-II,HD650,FiiO(E11,E17...yeh! I know!I need an upgrade)

  6. #6
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    yep people talked of they being connected to gs2 to wifi ad hoc but now new pieces with ICS does not detect AD-hoc at all.
    But these solutions are not working at all. and i dont want to screw my phone by rooting and all...
    i need some non rooting solution

  7. #7
    Master troll red dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,430

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Do not worry,rooting won't screw up your phone!
    It is pretty easy actually!
    Macbook Air 11"2011,Iphone 4S 16GB,Ipad2,Sennheiser HD-25 1-II,HD650,FiiO(E11,E17...yeh! I know!I need an upgrade)

  8. #8
    Lurking Around
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Try virtual router.Funny connectify should work too.
    Virtual Router
    Make sure internet sharing is active on your main network connection.

  9. #9
    In The Zone
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Infact the AD-HOC Wi-Fi Network works absloutely fine if you make your Laptop as a Hotspot and try to connect to the Internet from your SGS-2 the only problem is when you reverse the equation atleast with my VAIO Laptop I cannot connect to the 3G Internet connection on my SGS-2 from my Laptop. So my SGS-2 can use Internet from Laptop, But Laptop cannot from SGS-2

  10. #10
    Apprentice 50103's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Quote Originally Posted by Kvishal View Post
    Infact the AD-HOC Wi-Fi Network works absloutely fine if you make your Laptop as a Hotspot and try to connect to the Internet from your SGS-2 the only problem is when you reverse the equation atleast with my VAIO Laptop I cannot connect to the 3G Internet connection on my SGS-2 from my Laptop. So my SGS-2 can use Internet from Laptop, But Laptop cannot from SGS-2
    Android hotspot in SGS2 can be used...

  11. #11
    In The Zone
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Quote Originally Posted by 50103 View Post
    Android hotspot in SGS2 can be used...
    Already tried that, My Laptop's WiFi Network does not show that Network !

  12. #12
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    @all:- After lot of R&D i have found that SG 2 detects wifi if only it is transmitted in infrastructure mode like proper router or dongle.But AD-HOC does not work in fact it does not detect at all.
    @Kvishal:-May be your Laptop transmits wifi in infrastructure mode so it works and oppositely Mobile internet in laptop works like a charm to me.Even 2G speed loads FAcebook in less than 10 secs.Key is to connect from laptop to mobile ..one connect to this network button appears unless that happens it will not catch.

  13. #13
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Android supports Adhoc wifi detection and connection to it, but you need to modify wpa supplicant file. Maybe you can checkout at xda.
    To be satisfied with a little, is the greatest wisdom; and he that increaseth his riches, increaseth his cares; but a contented mind is a hidden treasure, and trouble findeth it not.

  14. #14
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    wpa supplicant somehow Screws the entire wifi..so it was not recommended on most of the websites.
    You guys can add your inputs if u didnt had such experiences.

  15. #15
    . fz8975's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    surat/anand
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    on my galaxy fit I do the same with Connectify in "Wi-Fi Access Point, Encrpyted(WPA2)" Sharing mode(with a password)
    IMO it should work on s2

    ps - my phone is not rooted

  16. #16
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    @fz8975:- you are using connectify-me or connectify pro because connectify me doesnt have WPA2 mode or else there may be problem as i am using windows vista....somewhere or the other problem is still there..

  17. #17
    . fz8975's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    surat/anand
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    @john i am using simple connectify http://www.connectify.com and it has WPA2 mode which works perfectly

  18. #18
    Right Off the Assembly Line
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Vyara, Gujarat
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: GALAXY S2 Wifi not at all supporting AD-HOC network

    Hello everyone...
    I have the same problem in lumia 610.....
    I have tried to find solution for 5 days..... and finally i got it.....
    You just try following things in your laptop while creating hotspot....
    Use MS Virtual Wi-Fi adapter to make hotspot.....
    these are the steps u have to follow:

    1) ENABLE YOUR MS VIRTUAL WIFI ADAPTER:
    a) Run cmd as Administrator
    b) Type these commands
    netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=Hotspot key=Password keyUsage=persistent
    c) Successful message will appear.

    2) ENABLE INTERNET SHARING:
    a) Goto Network and Sharing Center. Open Change Adapter Settings from Left panel.
    b) Right Click on the network which is connected to internet. Open Sharing Tab.
    c) Check in allow other network user to use.... and select your MS Virtual Wifi network from Dropdwn. And OK.

    3) SWITCH TO CMD:
    Type the following commands
    a) To start network: netsh wlan start hostednetwork
    b) To stop network: netsh wlan stop hostednetwork.



    You have Done!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •