Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!
Menu

digit

 

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 97

Thread: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

  1. #1
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Card Used/Needed -

    SAPPHIRE HD 6950 1GB GDDR5
    SAPPHIRE HD 6950 2GB GDDR5
    SAPPHIRE HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 Dirt3 Edition


    Stock Settings (I am using a 1GB version) -


    A Little Story Behind -
    I had overclocked my card to 900/1275 and was going to overvolt to get further. Before that i decided to read some user experiences at newegg. Saw this -
    Bios Switch unlocks 6970 shaders.
    So thats how the fun began.

    How to Unlock -
    1. You need to have a Sapphire HD6950 with a dual fan cooler. 1GB or 2GB both have good chance of unlocking.
    2. Make sure the card is running at stock 800/1250.
    3. Turn off the system, open the cabinet side panel and locate the BIOS Switch on the card. Its near crossfire bridge connector.
    4. Flip the switch towards right.
    5. Reboot.
    6. Open GPU-Z and you shall see this hopefully -

    7. Now you can overclock it to 880/1375 (the HD6970 speeds) (Note - Every card is different. Some cards may need overvolting to get to 880/1375. Overclock at your own risk)

    My Overclocking Update -

    This is at Stock Volt.

    Temps during BC2 (UPRIVER) -


    Benchmark Comparisons -




    UNIGINE -
    Last edited by Jaskanwar Singh; 10-12-2011 at 10:22 PM.
    Popular Gadget Deals
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  2. #2
    Alpha Geek
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    841

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    awesome stuff mate... wonder why this went unnoticed for so long... pic of the BIOS switch would help some members i think..

  3. #3
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    thanks rajan.
    bios switch is too small buddy. difficult to get good pic. tried.
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  4. #4
    Alpha Geek kapilove77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    670

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    any chance for me to unlock?
    [SPOILER] PC Rig - i5 2500k @4.5Ghz 1.37v|Asus P8Z68 V-Pro|2x4GB 1600Mhz G.skill RipJaws|Corsair TX650v2|Seagate 3TB 7200RPM+Seagate 2TB 7200RPM+WD Green 1 TB + Seagate 500 GB|OCZ Vertex 4 128GB|Logitech MX510+Logitech K200|CM Elite 431|CM Hyper 212+|Dell ST2220L|MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition/OC :D [/SPOILER]
    Phone - [B] Sony Xperia ZL [/B] [/SPOILER] [B] Haters Gonna hate no matter what!! [/B]

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Skud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    10 light years away
    Posts
    7,045

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    This is killer! Some benchmarks would be helpful.

    @kapilove77: MSI had released a BIOS and instructions to unlock the shaders earlier for that card. Google it.
    Gaming Rig:i7 2600K | N620 | P8Z68 Deluxe | 2x4GB RipjawsX DDR3 1600 | Vertex 3 120GB | Logitech G510 | Logitech G400 | Sapphire 6950 1GB | BenQ G2420HD | Corsair HX750 | Lancool K62 | Wireless Xbox 360 Controller
    HTPC Rig: C2D E7400 | EP45-DS3R | 2x2GB DDR2 800 | MS Wireless Desktop 2000 | Gigabyte 5770 | Samsung 32" | Seasonic SII 520W | Silverstone LC10
    Audio Gear: Altec Lansing VS2421 | ASUS Vulcan ANC | HiFiMan RE-0
    Storage: 2x250GB Ext | 3x500GB Int | 2x1TB Int | 1x1TB Ext | 2x2TB Int | 2x2TB Ext
    Android: Galaxy R | Galaxy Y

  6. #6
    iDota Sarath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bangalore, Visakhapatnam, Abu Dhabi
    Posts
    2,853

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Haha 6970 users burn in hell

    Oh wait!

    On a serious note nice little tutorial up there. i wish there was such a trick for 6970 users too but nvm
    [CENTER][URL="http://goo.gl/D2Cb3"][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]™[/URL][SPOILER][URL="http://goo.gl/35yYT"]◊ Online Shopping guide[/URL] ◊ [URL="http://goo.gl/3hyiq"][B]PS3™ master guide[/B][/URL] ◊ [URL="http://goo.gl/K4qhr"]PS3™ vs PC ◊[/URL]
    [I][FONT="Century Gothic"]Gaming[/FONT]:[/I]♦ PS3 ♣ [URL="http://goo.gl/RvcEN"]i5|HD6970 :hyper:Gaming RIG [/URL] | [URL="goo.gl/G4RJB"]Dell U2311H review[/URL] ♠ :apple: iΡod & iPhone 4 ♥ [URL="http://goo.gl/TIL4i"]Xperia™ Arc review[/URL]
    [FONT="Century Gothic"][I]Audio gear:[/I] [/FONT][URL="goo.gl/oEEVv"]Logitech Z623[/URL] | [URL="http://goo.gl/Ju1Bu"]Klipsch X10 :wub: [/URL] | Siberia V1 | M1 | M2 | CX180[/CENTER][/SPOILER]

  7. #7
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    benches coming soon skud. let me oc first

    thanks sarath.

    UPDATE -

    now its a full 6970 (except less vram) -


    temps during BC2 (UPRIVER) -


    will post unigine and 3dmark11 tomorrow.

    no voltage tweaking done!
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  8. #8
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Guwahati
    Posts
    13,555

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    @jassy, congo man. free gift. lucky

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Skud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    10 light years away
    Posts
    7,045

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    What about noise? I have read this card is noisier under load (just like other dual fan cards). Even my single fan's noise is audible at 50% and above in winter when the ceiling fan doesn't spin.
    Gaming Rig:i7 2600K | N620 | P8Z68 Deluxe | 2x4GB RipjawsX DDR3 1600 | Vertex 3 120GB | Logitech G510 | Logitech G400 | Sapphire 6950 1GB | BenQ G2420HD | Corsair HX750 | Lancool K62 | Wireless Xbox 360 Controller
    HTPC Rig: C2D E7400 | EP45-DS3R | 2x2GB DDR2 800 | MS Wireless Desktop 2000 | Gigabyte 5770 | Samsung 32" | Seasonic SII 520W | Silverstone LC10
    Audio Gear: Altec Lansing VS2421 | ASUS Vulcan ANC | HiFiMan RE-0
    Storage: 2x250GB Ext | 3x500GB Int | 2x1TB Int | 1x1TB Ext | 2x2TB Int | 2x2TB Ext
    Android: Galaxy R | Galaxy Y

  10. #10
    Wise Old Owl mithun_mrg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Assam
    Posts
    1,327

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    ^^ i think the noise even if it will be during gaming which is easily overtaken by the speakers/heaphones u use
    congrats jas
    [B][I]Corei3-530@4.5,MSI P55-GD65,Gskill 4G,Coolit ALC,Tagan 500W,XFX 6850@1000/1200,MX 518,Razer Abyssus,Avermedia Pcie TV,Audigy,VS3251,Transcend MP330 8Gb, PL11, PMX 60,PSP 3000 , Galaxy 551,Nokia C1-02.[/I][/B]

  11. #11
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    @sammy
    yeah, thanks buddy

    @skud
    yes card becomes noisy with high fan profiles. i used trixx fan bar to test this.
    but i use headphones, so not a problem.

    and we cant give away oc due to noise

    @mithun_mrg
    right. and thanks buddy


    Comparisons-

    3D mark 11 -

    800/1250 (1408 shaders) - 4804


    900/1250 (1408 shaders) - 5287


    800/1250 (1536 shaders) - 4958


    880/1375 (1536 shaders) - 5431


    Unigine -

    800/1250 (1408 shaders) -


    880/1375 (1536 shaders) -


    changed the 1st post to a little tutorial.
    Last edited by Jaskanwar Singh; 10-12-2011 at 08:19 AM.
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Skud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    10 light years away
    Posts
    7,045

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Yours is the story of luck, getting a 6970 from a 6950 1gb, that too a RMAed one.
    Gaming Rig:i7 2600K | N620 | P8Z68 Deluxe | 2x4GB RipjawsX DDR3 1600 | Vertex 3 120GB | Logitech G510 | Logitech G400 | Sapphire 6950 1GB | BenQ G2420HD | Corsair HX750 | Lancool K62 | Wireless Xbox 360 Controller
    HTPC Rig: C2D E7400 | EP45-DS3R | 2x2GB DDR2 800 | MS Wireless Desktop 2000 | Gigabyte 5770 | Samsung 32" | Seasonic SII 520W | Silverstone LC10
    Audio Gear: Altec Lansing VS2421 | ASUS Vulcan ANC | HiFiMan RE-0
    Storage: 2x250GB Ext | 3x500GB Int | 2x1TB Int | 1x1TB Ext | 2x2TB Int | 2x2TB Ext
    Android: Galaxy R | Galaxy Y

  13. #13
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Quote Originally Posted by Skud View Post
    Yours is the story of luck, getting a 6970 from a 6950 1gb, that too a RMAed one.
    yup. RMA helped me get this card which has high chance of unlocking.
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  14. #14
    Fast 'N' Furious topgear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Geek's Heaven
    Posts
    17,115

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    nice going mate ... now time to play with HD6970
    Who Dares Wins. No Retreat, No Surrender.

  15. #15
    laborare est orare Cilus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    7,304

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Jas, superb work buddy. You are becoming pro day by day. Now you got a HD 6970 from your HD 6950. So I don't think you need to puch the card much further.
    AMD FX 8350 @ 4.5 GHz|16 GB RipjawX 1873 MHz CL10 @ 1.6V|1+2TB Seagate + 1 TB WD Green 64MB Cache|Sabertooth 990FX|Sapphire HD 7950 VApor-X OC with Boost|GT 240 1 GB GDDR5 PhysX|CM690II Advanced|LG D2342P Cinema 3D Display|TX850 V2|2 CM 1600RPM FAN|MX518|Razer Goliathus|Razer Arctosa|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset|CM Hyper 212 Plus|APC1.1KVA| Moto Defy Plus with CM 10.1 JB 4.1|HCL Me Y2 Tab (rooted)] XOLO Q800 with Ultimate V2 JB 4.2.1| Galaxy Tab 2 P3100

  16. #16
    In The Zone slashragnarok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kolkata
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Does this card have 2 6 pin connectors or 6pin+8 pin?
    Asus P8Z68 V PRO|Intel Core i5 2500k|NZXT Tempest Evo|GSkill RipjawsX 4GBx2|Corsair TX 850 V2|Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB x 2|Noctua NH-D14|Sapphire HD 7870

  17. #17
    The silent Warrior DARK KNIGHT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    delhi
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Jas does we the owners of 6950 have chance to do this . i ask this question bcse we all have different company cards only kapilove have and i have the same company card. can we do this or not . and yes nice oced jas & cilius check Ur spell mistake u did it in a hurry i think edit it .
    [B][I]IN THE DARK NIGHT A WARRIOR IS RISE
    Sony Ericsson Live with Walkman - WT19i ( It shakes my world)[/I][/B]

  18. #18
    Super Moderator Skud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    10 light years away
    Posts
    7,045

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Quote Originally Posted by DARK KNIGHT View Post
    Jas does we the owners of 6950 have chance to do this . i ask this question bcse we all have different company cards only kapilove have and i have the same company card. can we do this or not . and yes nice oced jas & cilius check Ur spell mistake u did it in a hurry i think edit it .

    It's answered here:

    Quote Originally Posted by Skud View Post
    @kapilove77: MSI had released a BIOS and instructions to unlock the shaders earlier for that card. Google it.

    Of course, it won't be just a flip of switch, you have to actually flash the BIOS. Else there are scripts to do it automatically. But beware, this might be risky and there's no guarantee. In any case, always backup the original BIOS.
    Gaming Rig:i7 2600K | N620 | P8Z68 Deluxe | 2x4GB RipjawsX DDR3 1600 | Vertex 3 120GB | Logitech G510 | Logitech G400 | Sapphire 6950 1GB | BenQ G2420HD | Corsair HX750 | Lancool K62 | Wireless Xbox 360 Controller
    HTPC Rig: C2D E7400 | EP45-DS3R | 2x2GB DDR2 800 | MS Wireless Desktop 2000 | Gigabyte 5770 | Samsung 32" | Seasonic SII 520W | Silverstone LC10
    Audio Gear: Altec Lansing VS2421 | ASUS Vulcan ANC | HiFiMan RE-0
    Storage: 2x250GB Ext | 3x500GB Int | 2x1TB Int | 1x1TB Ext | 2x2TB Int | 2x2TB Ext
    Android: Galaxy R | Galaxy Y

  19. #19
    BMG ftw!! d6bmg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    6,679

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    @Jas: pure luck here. Enjoy your unlocked 6950.
    [B][U]Inactive in TDF.[/U][/B]

  20. #20
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Quote Originally Posted by topgear View Post
    nice going mate ... now time to play with HD6970
    thanks TP.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cilus View Post
    Jas, superb work buddy. You are becoming pro day by day. Now you got a HD 6970 from your HD 6950. So I don't think you need to puch the card much further.
    thanks cilus.
    yes i am keeping it at 880/1375.

    Quote Originally Posted by slashragnarok View Post
    Does this card have 2 6 pin connectors or 6pin+8 pin?
    2 6pin.

    Quote Originally Posted by DARK KNIGHT View Post
    Jas does we the owners of 6950 have chance to do this . i ask this question bcse we all have different company cards only kapilove have and i have the same company card. can we do this or not . and yes nice oced jas & cilius check Ur spell mistake u did it in a hurry i think edit it .
    MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition Unlocking - Unlocking Guide
    and thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by d6bmg View Post
    @Jas: pure luck here. Enjoy your unlocked 6950.
    thanks.
    but these sapphire dual fan versions have high chance on unlocking. check newegg.
    Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100312-3SR Radeon HD 6950 Dirt3 Edition 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  21. #21
    Alpha Geek kapilove77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    670

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    What is the worse thing can happen while unlocking my card?
    [SPOILER] PC Rig - i5 2500k @4.5Ghz 1.37v|Asus P8Z68 V-Pro|2x4GB 1600Mhz G.skill RipJaws|Corsair TX650v2|Seagate 3TB 7200RPM+Seagate 2TB 7200RPM+WD Green 1 TB + Seagate 500 GB|OCZ Vertex 4 128GB|Logitech MX510+Logitech K200|CM Elite 431|CM Hyper 212+|Dell ST2220L|MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition/OC :D [/SPOILER]
    Phone - [B] Sony Xperia ZL [/B] [/SPOILER] [B] Haters Gonna hate no matter what!! [/B]

  22. #22
    Super Moderator Skud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    10 light years away
    Posts
    7,045

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    A bricked card at its worst and no extra shaders if there's nothing to unlock.
    Gaming Rig:i7 2600K | N620 | P8Z68 Deluxe | 2x4GB RipjawsX DDR3 1600 | Vertex 3 120GB | Logitech G510 | Logitech G400 | Sapphire 6950 1GB | BenQ G2420HD | Corsair HX750 | Lancool K62 | Wireless Xbox 360 Controller
    HTPC Rig: C2D E7400 | EP45-DS3R | 2x2GB DDR2 800 | MS Wireless Desktop 2000 | Gigabyte 5770 | Samsung 32" | Seasonic SII 520W | Silverstone LC10
    Audio Gear: Altec Lansing VS2421 | ASUS Vulcan ANC | HiFiMan RE-0
    Storage: 2x250GB Ext | 3x500GB Int | 2x1TB Int | 1x1TB Ext | 2x2TB Int | 2x2TB Ext
    Android: Galaxy R | Galaxy Y

  23. #23
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!



    Last edited by Jaskanwar Singh; 10-12-2011 at 10:08 PM.
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  24. #24
    Gadget Freak Tenida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Calcutta
    Posts
    3,771

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    You're very lucky jaskanwar......congrats for your new unlocked HD6970 1GB DDR5 Now forget about GTX560Ti vs HD6950 hehehe...
    Last edited by Tenida; 10-12-2011 at 10:04 PM.
    You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I'm not hungry enough to eat six

  25. #25
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    thanks Tenida.

    added a dirt 3 bench in previous post.

    update -
    added graphs of 3d mark 11, dirt3, avp benches in first post.
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

  26. #26
    Human Spambot MegaMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Perambalur, TN
    Posts
    3,241

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Well done Jas, Congrats
    [B]i5 2500K - P8Z68-V - Venomous X - RipjawsX 8GB 1600Mhz CL8 - Plextor M3 PRO 128GB - 1TB Black - GTX 570 sonic platinum - CM M850 - HAF X - XONAR DX + Z906 - Dell U2412M - DSL 2750U - APC 1.1KVA[/B]

  27. #27
    Fast 'N' Furious topgear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Geek's Heaven
    Posts
    17,115

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Who Dares Wins. No Retreat, No Surrender.

  28. #28
    In The Zone rchi84's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    275

    Default

    That is impressive jas. Congrats! The first 1 gb 6970 I have read about happy gaming
    Core i5 2400|| Gigabyte ph67 B3|| 8GB DDR3 1333|| 1TB WDC Black|| CM 690II Nvidia Edition|| CM 850W Silent Pro|| Samsung 2333T|| Gigabyte Geforce 670 2GB (Windforce 3x)|| Logitech G35 Headset

  29. #29
    SWAT 4 GameR ashis_lakra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rajgangpur, Orissa
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    Yep, first one.. I wish GTX 560 ti could unlock to GTX 570 . haha
    Core i5 2500K @ 3.3 GHZ | Asus P8P67 | 8GB DDR3 XMS3 | 1 TB Seagate Barracuda | BenQ GL2450 24" | Zotac GTX 670 OC 2GB GDDR5 | Razer Deathadder 3500dpi | Cooler Master Elite 430 | Microsoft Keyboard 600 | Seasonic S12 II 620W | iBall Nirantar 1080 UPS | Sennheiser HD 202

  30. #30
    . Jaskanwar Singh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amritsar
    Posts
    5,748

    Default Re: Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

    @megamind
    thanks buddy

    @rchi
    thanks buddy

    @TP
    in AvP they have used 4xAA, i have run it at default settings -
    Spoiler:
    # AvP Benchmark Config File
    # =========================
    #
    # To use a config file such as this with the Benchmark, launch the
    # AvP_Benchmark.exe with the following on the command-line (e.g.via a
    # short-cut).
    #
    # -config=name_of_your_config.txt
    #
    # If no config file is specified the Benchmark will run at it's default
    # settings (which are listed below).
    #
    # Lines beginning with # are comments and are ignored by the Benchmark.
    #
    # By default the Benchmark will output to the user's Documents folder,
    # under a subfolder called "AvP_Benchmark". The filename of the report
    # will include the current date and time to make it easier to compare
    # different runs.
    #
    # To specify a different report filename, use the following on the
    # command-line:
    #
    # -report=name_of_report_file.txt
    #

    #
    # Each value has a default which will be used if there is not a valid
    # setting (i.e. out of range or the line is commented out).
    #
    # If there are multiple mentions of the same value (e.g. Shadow Quality)
    # then the last one in the file will be used.
    #

    # Video resolution, Width and Height
    #
    # Defaults to Windows resolution if commented out.
    #Width: 1024
    #Height: 768

    # Texture Quality:
    #
    # 0 = Low, 1 = Medium, 2 = High 3 = Very High
    # Defaults to 2 if commented out.
    Texture Quality: 2

    # Shadow Quality:
    #
    # 0 = Off, 1 = Low, 2 = Medium, 3 = High
    # Defaults to 3 if commented out.
    Shadow Quality: 3

    # Anistropic Filtering
    #
    # Range of 1 to 16
    # Defaults to 16 if commented out.
    Anisotropic Filtering: 16

    # Screen Space Ambient Occlusion
    #
    # 0 = Off, 1 = On
    # Defaults to 1 if commented out.
    SSAO: 1

    # Vertical Sync
    #
    # 0 = Off, 1 = On
    # Defaults to 0 if commented out.
    Vertical Sync: 0

    # DX11 Tessellation
    #
    # 0 = Off, 1 = On
    # Defaults to 1 if commented out.
    DX11 Tessellation: 1

    # DX11 Advanced shadow sampling
    #
    # 0 = Off, 1 = On
    # Defaults to 1 if commented out.
    DX11 Advanced Shadows: 1

    # DX11 Full Screen Anti-Aliasing Sample Count
    #
    # 1 = Off, 2 = 2xAA, 4 = 4XAA
    # Defaults to 1 if commented out.
    DX11 MSAA Samples: 1



    Benchmark Results: Aliens Vs. Predator : Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Core Review: GF110 On A Diet


    scores in line with 6970 and 6950 scores. i used same settings.

    in 3dmark11 i think they have used the score combined of all 6 tests whereas i have used 4 GPU tests only.
    in unigine i think they have used default settings.

    Guys i have problem with Dirt3 benchmark.
    i choose 8xmsaa 3 times for benching, but everytime i see the xml file its reset o 4xmsaa. any solution?

    here is 3d mark 11 extreme preset gpu score -
    Spoiler:





    Quote Originally Posted by ashis_lakra View Post
    Yep, first one.. I wish GTX 560 ti could unlock to GTX 570 . haha
    nice one
    Steam ID - HD6950, Origin - Jas9009, UPlay - Jas808
    Athlon II x4 635, CM Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H, G.SKILL 6GB, Sapphire HD6950 1GB (Unlocked - HD6970), WDC 500GB Green, Corsair GS600, CM Elite 430, DELL ST2220L, X360 Controller, Logitech G400, Razor Goliathus Omega - Speed, Logitech K120, WD My Passport 1TB, Lenovo Y510P (Core i5 4200M, GT755M, 8GB, 1TB) , LG Optimus G2, Soundmagic ES18

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2011, 06:19 AM
  2. Unlocking 6950 to 6970 and some other queries
    By slashragnarok in forum Graphic cards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-06-2011, 08:35 PM
  3. core i3 and 6970, 570, 6950 accelerators
    By Jaskanwar Singh in forum Graphic cards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-03-2011, 09:21 PM
  4. AMD HD 6950 and 6970 released
    By topgear in forum Graphic cards
    Replies: 245
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 12:24 PM
  5. AMD Radeon HD 6950 to HD 6970 Mod
    By paroh in forum Technology News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 01:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •