How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?
Menu

digit

 

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

  1. #1
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    The password we have is encrypted with WEP. I want to change it to WPA. Any idea how to do that? There is no software with which we access internet. We just switch on the wifi modem and access the internet by keying in a password.
    I googled and went to some mtnl website and followed instructions. But ultimately I got stuck in a loop and the password could not be changed, let alone encryption.
    Popular Gadget Deals
    [CENTER]Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of [URL="http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/rules-announcements/147454-forum-rules-updated-january-26-2012-a.html"]FORUM RULES[/URL] is no defence.
    [/CENTER]

  2. #2
    Manchester United <3 Ishu Gupta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    2,096

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Tried 192.168.1.1 ?

    Which modem?
    i5 2500k 4.4GHz @ 1.26v | Hyper 212 Evo | Sapphire HD7850 2GB | P8Z68-V Gen 3
    RipjawsX 2x4GB 1600MHz CL9 | MX100 512GB | 160GB + 2TB + 3TB | W8.1 + ArchLinux
    CM690 II USB3 | TX750W V2 | APC 1.1KVa | U2312HM + 40" LCD
    G400s + Goliathus | Quickfire Rapid-i | XBone Wired x2
    Senns HD180 | ATP3 | Nexus 5 32GB Cata5.0

  3. #3
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Since you have not mentioned which model you are using or whether
    1) it’s a ADSL modem cum wifi router or whether its (two in one unit)
    2) only a wifi modem
    I presume it’s (2). Change the setting to WPA then change the password on the wifi router, save & reboot it then make the same changes on your laptop. This site maybe useful Socrates’s experience
    Remember if its (1) there is the broadband a/c password and there is the password for the wifi part so please be careful what you are changing. I hope this helps.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  4. #4
    Wise Old Owl mithun_mrg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Assam
    Posts
    1,329

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    can u open the modem page which should be 192.168.1.1
    userid-admin
    password-admin

    there go to the Wireless>Security option
    change it to wpa2 psk & set the key/password

    reboot the modem
    [B][I]Corei3-530@4.5,MSI P55-GD65,Gskill 4G,Coolit ALC,Tagan 500W,XFX 6850@1000/1200,MX 518,Razer Abyssus,Avermedia Pcie TV,Audigy,VS3251,Transcend MP330 8Gb, PL11, PMX 60,PSP 3000 , Galaxy 551,Nokia C1-02.[/I][/B]

  5. #5
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys. I think it is a two in one unit. Sorry I don't know much about the hardware. We can use a wired connection as well as wireless, hope that helps.

    I will try opening the modem page tonight.
    [CENTER]Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of [URL="http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/rules-announcements/147454-forum-rules-updated-january-26-2012-a.html"]FORUM RULES[/URL] is no defence.
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Human Spambot asingh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    5,318

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    ^^
    The option has to be there. Once you set it to the type of security, the Windows adapter will recognize it as the same.
    MSI P45 Platinum(BIOS v1.7B)|Q9550[E0]@3.85Ghz@1.320V[453x8.5]MCH@1.184V|ICH@1.55V|DDR_V_Ref_A_B@1.05V|NH-D14|Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5(5-5-5-15)@1089Mhz@2.14V
    2xHD4890[Xfire]@1000/900[MEM/GPU]|Corsair 650TX|Seagate180GB+80GB+WD1TB|SONY-DVD-R|CM690|2x120mm Scythe Ultra Kaze|DELL S2409W|APC 1100VA|Scythe Kaze Server
    Windows 7 Ultimate RTM - 64BIT|Catalyst 10.5 (8.14.10.0753) forced with RadeonPRO|PS3 160GB|Sony 40EX520|AC Ryan POHD Mini|APC 800VA|D425KT|CM100 Elite|2TB WD|Acer D255

    Test your spoiler tags before submitting

  7. #7
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    Thanks for your help guys. 192.168.1.1 worked. There is an option under wireless>security called connection type. It is shared now. I will make it wpa 2 psk tonight. And change password to 128 bit encryption level.

    I hope my roomies will be able to access wifi after this. Hoping for the best.
    [CENTER]Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of [URL="http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/rules-announcements/147454-forum-rules-updated-january-26-2012-a.html"]FORUM RULES[/URL] is no defence.
    [/CENTER]

  8. #8
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    You can also use https://www.grc.com/passwords.htm for generating random passwords for use in your router & other devices, which you can store on a pendrive, & also use MAC filtering so only those specified MAC's (in the wifi router) can access your connection. All that is mentioned in the link I gave above for the Linksys & Netgear routers.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  9. #9
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Thanks for that. I don't want to enable MAC filtering as in case we want to access the network with some other machine, we would like to have the option available instantly.
    [CENTER]Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of [URL="http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/rules-announcements/147454-forum-rules-updated-january-26-2012-a.html"]FORUM RULES[/URL] is no defence.
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    I use it at my place & I have put in all the MAC addresses of all the devices in my house, so any of these devices can be used w/o me fiddling with setting no the router
    The socrates link above gives more details on security when doing it on the Linksys & Netgear routers in that blog.
    If your unit is a beetel then this might help http://mybroadbandforum.com/beetel-1...e-1-t2846.html
    Last edited by socrates; 02-11-2011 at 06:58 PM.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

Similar Threads

  1. Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem
    By Manickaraj in forum Networking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19-12-2011, 08:42 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 07:19 AM
  3. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 04:07 PM
  4. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 02:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •