How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?
Menu

digit

 

Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

  1. #1
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    The password we have is encrypted with WEP. I want to change it to WPA. Any idea how to do that? There is no software with which we access internet. We just switch on the wifi modem and access the internet by keying in a password.
    I googled and went to some mtnl website and followed instructions. But ultimately I got stuck in a loop and the password could not be changed, let alone encryption.
    Popular Gadget Deals
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  2. #2
    Manchester United <3 Ishu Gupta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    2,096

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Tried 192.168.1.1 ?

    Which modem?
    i5 2500k 4.4GHz @ 1.26v | CM Hyper 212 Evo | Sapphire HD 7850 2GB | Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
    GSkill RipjawsX 2x4GB 1600MHz CL9 | 160GB 7200 + WD Black 2TB | W7 + ArchLinux
    CM690 II USB3 | Corsair TX750W V2 | APC 1.1KVa | Dell U2312HM + Sansui V8 19"
    Razer DA Black + Razer Goliathus | X360 wired x2
    Senns HD201 | PSP Slim 8GB MSPD | Xperia U FXP 9.1 | [URL="http://speedtest.net/result/1581844243.png"]Speedtest[/URL]

  3. #3
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Since you have not mentioned which model you are using or whether
    1) it’s a ADSL modem cum wifi router or whether its (two in one unit)
    2) only a wifi modem
    I presume it’s (2). Change the setting to WPA then change the password on the wifi router, save & reboot it then make the same changes on your laptop. This site maybe useful Socrates’s experience
    Remember if its (1) there is the broadband a/c password and there is the password for the wifi part so please be careful what you are changing. I hope this helps.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  4. #4
    Wise Old Owl mithun_mrg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Assam
    Posts
    1,327

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    can u open the modem page which should be 192.168.1.1
    userid-admin
    password-admin

    there go to the Wireless>Security option
    change it to wpa2 psk & set the key/password

    reboot the modem
    [B][I]Corei3-530@4.5,MSI P55-GD65,Gskill 4G,Coolit ALC,Tagan 500W,XFX 6850@1000/1200,MX 518,Razer Abyssus,Avermedia Pcie TV,Audigy,VS3251,Transcend MP330 8Gb, PL11, PMX 60,PSP 3000 , Galaxy 551,Nokia C1-02.[/I][/B]

  5. #5
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys. I think it is a two in one unit. Sorry I don't know much about the hardware. We can use a wired connection as well as wireless, hope that helps.

    I will try opening the modem page tonight.
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  6. #6
    Human Spambot asingh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    5,318

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    ^^
    The option has to be there. Once you set it to the type of security, the Windows adapter will recognize it as the same.
    MSI P45 Platinum(BIOS v1.7B)|Q9550[E0]@3.85Ghz@1.320V[453x8.5]MCH@1.184V|ICH@1.55V|DDR_V_Ref_A_B@1.05V|NH-D14|Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5(5-5-5-15)@1089Mhz@2.14V
    2xHD4890[Xfire]@1000/900[MEM/GPU]|Corsair 650TX|Seagate180GB+80GB+WD1TB|SONY-DVD-R|CM690|2x120mm Scythe Ultra Kaze|DELL S2409W|APC 1100VA|Scythe Kaze Server
    Windows 7 Ultimate RTM - 64BIT|Catalyst 10.5 (8.14.10.0753) forced with RadeonPRO|PS3 160GB|Sony 40EX520|AC Ryan POHD Mini|APC 800VA|D425KT|CM100 Elite|2TB WD|Acer D255

    Test your spoiler tags before submitting

  7. #7
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    Thanks for your help guys. 192.168.1.1 worked. There is an option under wireless>security called connection type. It is shared now. I will make it wpa 2 psk tonight. And change password to 128 bit encryption level.

    I hope my roomies will be able to access wifi after this. Hoping for the best.
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  8. #8
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    You can also use https://www.grc.com/passwords.htm for generating random passwords for use in your router & other devices, which you can store on a pendrive, & also use MAC filtering so only those specified MAC's (in the wifi router) can access your connection. All that is mentioned in the link I gave above for the Linksys & Netgear routers.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  9. #9
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Thanks for that. I don't want to enable MAC filtering as in case we want to access the network with some other machine, we would like to have the option available instantly.
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  10. #10
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    I use it at my place & I have put in all the MAC addresses of all the devices in my house, so any of these devices can be used w/o me fiddling with setting no the router
    The socrates link above gives more details on security when doing it on the Linksys & Netgear routers in that blog.
    If your unit is a beetel then this might help http://mybroadbandforum.com/beetel-1...e-1-t2846.html
    Last edited by socrates; 02-11-2011 at 06:58 PM.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  11. #11
    Manchester United <3 Ishu Gupta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    2,096

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Quote Originally Posted by Krow View Post
    Thanks for that. I don't want to enable MAC filtering as in case we want to access the network with some other machine, we would like to have the option available instantly.
    Yeah, Don't enable MAC filtering.
    i5 2500k 4.4GHz @ 1.26v | CM Hyper 212 Evo | Sapphire HD 7850 2GB | Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
    GSkill RipjawsX 2x4GB 1600MHz CL9 | 160GB 7200 + WD Black 2TB | W7 + ArchLinux
    CM690 II USB3 | Corsair TX750W V2 | APC 1.1KVa | Dell U2312HM + Sansui V8 19"
    Razer DA Black + Razer Goliathus | X360 wired x2
    Senns HD201 | PSP Slim 8GB MSPD | Xperia U FXP 9.1 | [URL="http://speedtest.net/result/1581844243.png"]Speedtest[/URL]

  12. #12
    Wise Old Owl mithun_mrg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Assam
    Posts
    1,327

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    you can add these also as security measures
    1.change the modem login password
    2.set the encrypion type to AES
    3.After all clients r connected Hide the SSID
    [B][I]Corei3-530@4.5,MSI P55-GD65,Gskill 4G,Coolit ALC,Tagan 500W,XFX 6850@1000/1200,MX 518,Razer Abyssus,Avermedia Pcie TV,Audigy,VS3251,Transcend MP330 8Gb, PL11, PMX 60,PSP 3000 , Galaxy 551,Nokia C1-02.[/I][/B]

  13. #13
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Quote Originally Posted by mithun_mrg View Post
    you can add these also as security measures
    1.change the modem login password
    2.set the encrypion type to AES
    3.After all clients r connected Hide the SSID
    Good points but remember that you could face problems some times when you hide the SSID. Some wifi cards do not connect if the SSID is hidden. Happened to my Acer with a Intel WiFi 1000BGN wifi card (having the latest drivers & running on Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit) cannot connect to the net even though the option was selected that it should connect when SSID is hidden.

    Have a look at the answers I got from Intel & Microsoft

    http://communities.intel.com/message/88147#88147

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...b-e846fd0ef7b0
    Last edited by socrates; 03-11-2011 at 09:15 AM.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  14. #14
    Human Spambot asingh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    5,318

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ishu Gupta View Post
    Yeah, Don't enable MAC filtering.
    Yea, I found it too restrictive.
    MSI P45 Platinum(BIOS v1.7B)|Q9550[E0]@3.85Ghz@1.320V[453x8.5]MCH@1.184V|ICH@1.55V|DDR_V_Ref_A_B@1.05V|NH-D14|Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5(5-5-5-15)@1089Mhz@2.14V
    2xHD4890[Xfire]@1000/900[MEM/GPU]|Corsair 650TX|Seagate180GB+80GB+WD1TB|SONY-DVD-R|CM690|2x120mm Scythe Ultra Kaze|DELL S2409W|APC 1100VA|Scythe Kaze Server
    Windows 7 Ultimate RTM - 64BIT|Catalyst 10.5 (8.14.10.0753) forced with RadeonPRO|PS3 160GB|Sony 40EX520|AC Ryan POHD Mini|APC 800VA|D425KT|CM100 Elite|2TB WD|Acer D255

    Test your spoiler tags before submitting

  15. #15
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    I suppose there are different stages of security, bordering on paranoia. I'll just go for wpa 2 and a strong password, hopefully aes
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  16. #16
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Quote Originally Posted by Krow View Post
    I suppose there are different stages of security, bordering on paranoia. I'll just go for wpa 2 and a strong password, hopefully aes
    Lol Agree but with all what has happened in Mumbai n the recent past one cant be too careful.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  17. #17
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Thanks for all the super fast replies guys. I moved to WPA2-PSK and a strong password. There is another MTNL wireless network in range here. Its password is the one that we had. We had not changed it after we got the connection. Better late than never I suppose.
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  18. #18
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Lol I am not mentioning the exact details here But if you know the MTNL policy of issuing passwords (all alert customers would know this) to its customers, you can tap into any of these MTNL networks especially as they helpfully give all the same SSID. Now you will know the reason for my 'Paranoia'. I have helped lots of people in my colony to secure their networks properly so no one can hack it.

    BTW If you are guessing why I have not informed the authorities about this. I did & to no avail. In fact when I first noticed this I informed MTNL but they just heard me out then tended to ignore me, possibly they did not understand what I was saying
    Last edited by socrates; 04-11-2011 at 09:54 AM.
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

  19. #19
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    I am pretty sure they will not consider all of this if someone misuses our wifi networks. How do I change my device's SSID?
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  20. #20
    Wise Old Owl mithun_mrg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Assam
    Posts
    1,327

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    I don't think changing the SSID is that important
    u can do it from Wireless>General page of the modem

    one can find out the ssid even it is hidden
    [B][I]Corei3-530@4.5,MSI P55-GD65,Gskill 4G,Coolit ALC,Tagan 500W,XFX 6850@1000/1200,MX 518,Razer Abyssus,Avermedia Pcie TV,Audigy,VS3251,Transcend MP330 8Gb, PL11, PMX 60,PSP 3000 , Galaxy 551,Nokia C1-02.[/I][/B]

  21. #21
    Crowman Krow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    4,335

    Default

    No I just wanted to know how to do it. Thanks a lot for your assistance guys. Really appreciate it.
    Neo TDF > TDF 6.5
    Ignorance of FORUM RULES is no defence.

  22. #22
    In The Zone socrates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    387

    Default Re: How to change MTNL Wifi modem password?

    Quote Originally Posted by Krow View Post
    I am pretty sure they will not consider all of this if someone misuses our wifi networks. How do I change my device's SSID?
    See post #13 above
    be what you are
    and say what you feel
    bcoz those who mind, don't matter
    and those who matter, don't mind !!

Similar Threads

  1. Need a new wifi modem to use with BSNL broadband modem
    By Manickaraj in forum Networking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19-12-2011, 08:42 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 07:19 AM
  3. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 04:07 PM
  4. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 02:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •